We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a School field trip for teens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
2300 North Lincoln Blvd, Oklahoma City, OK 73104
405 521 3356
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 50 Attractions in Oklahoma City
Type: Government Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for a School field trip for teens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Set up a field trip for your class. They do have guided tours for groups. Also there are some training aids (question forms) which can be carried by the students, (sort of like a treasure hunt) ... The group I work with are special needs, high school students, (so its not so much of how much you saw, but you trying to find the material, and take a few motes for discussion when we get back to the class room.) and having fun!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    60
    31
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An Art Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We weren't welcomed by the first security guard we encountered. He was VERY rude to us when we entered the wrong door. Thankfully, once inside the staff was very helpful. We were told if a door was open, to go in-even behind the senate & house areas to view the artwork. The booklet we were given for the self-guided tour was very helpful. Guided tours are also given.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fun and Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Every state has an interesting capitol. We have toured a bunch of them and have enjoyed the experiences. The Oklahoma state capitol was interesting to us because we learned quite a bit about the history of the state. I didn't know it was the 46th state, admitted to the union in 1907. The building was built just after that except they ran out of money and didn't build the dome. The dome was completed in about 2004, just in time for the centennial. Our guide was a wealth of information. We enjoyed seeing the art work. You gotta remember that probably the most famous Oklahoman was Will Rogers. He has a big portrait in the capitol building. Although not the grandest capitol in the union, it is a building that makes Oklahomans proud and it is a good historical exposure to the state for visitors. There is also a nice little gift shop where the tours begin.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkburnett
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We could not figure out how to get into the building to look around and it was hot and humid outside and didn't want to keep walking around so we left. My husband and I was disappointed we didn't get to take a tour but will try again next time we go. The outside of the building was beautiful and the landscaping was well maintained just never made it inside :(

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Open until 7 p.m. for anyone to enjoy the artwork.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Everyone greeted us, the police officer manning the entrance, the cleaning staff, and the people running the exhibits. What a wonderful, free, educational experience!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.