We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a Personal Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Capitol

State Capitol
2300 North Lincoln Blvd, Oklahoma City, OK 73104
405 521 3356
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 50 Attractions in Oklahoma City
Type: Government Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
154 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Got a Personal Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The capitol building is quite attractive and rich with history.

I got lucky and got a personal tour because I was the only one who showed up for the 10 AM tour the day I was there. I highly recommend taking the tour (it's free). My guide was very knowledgeable about the building's history and the artwork.

The legislature was in session, so I got to sit in the Senate and House galleries to watch some legislation in action. It was also a great experience because the capitol was buzzing with activity.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    61
    31
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Capitol surrounded by Oil Wells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This Capitol building is rather unique since it has oil wells surrounding it, as the Capitol sits in teh middle of an old prolific oil field. The interior is beautiful and the murals are spectacular. Be sure and see the Jim Thorpe memorial. Well worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I would definitely recommend taking the guided tours. It was a fun and new experience. I would be sure to take a camera to capture the beauty.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“State Captial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Interesting Capital. The dome is still new and the working oil rigs are old.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fast, Friendly, Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

There are a lot to choose from for a snack bar, I was surprised at how good the food was. They have hot sandwiches before 1 pm( the grill closes) and a lot of other healthy food choices to choose from.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.