We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Park Nature Center

Martin Park Nature Center
5000 West Memorial Rd, Oklahoma City, OK 73142
405 755 0676
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 64 attractions in Oklahoma City
Type: Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Super cute new whimsical outdoors themed park - mushrooms to play on and playground that looks like logs. Go on a short nature walk to the air conditioned nature center. There you can talk to the parrot (real) and see lots of other real animals, insects and reptiles. The workers frequently bring out a snake for everyone to touch.

If you plan to walk their extensive trails and do some nature spotting, bring a stroller with large wheels or better yet, leave it at home. The trails aren't great for strollers. We like to bring a picnic lunch to either eat on the trail or at the nature center.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    20
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sweet little place among the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I really enjoyed going here as a kid. It was like being in the forest some place far from the city, yet you still knew you where in the city when you looked up at the sky. The learning center the last time I went was still the original learning center complete with random creatures and an example of a tornado in a soda bottle. It is a nice piece of wild life within the city. Even tho it is in the city do not forget to bring bug spray and wear the appropriate clothing. I have gone home before only to find ticks attached to me or walking on me. I recommend it for a quick escape to wilderness.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great time roaming around here! We did not know that it existed until a couple of our friends told us about it. The best part is the stream that you can walk in, the kids were hot so the water was a nice touch

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Shady Hiking Trails with Wildlife in Oklahoma City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Located in NW Oklahoma City on the south side of Kilpatrick Turnpike (Memorial Rd.) just west of Mercy Hospital is a gem of a park with three mile-long hiking trails and a wildlife sanctuary. We hiked the first one yesterday in the middle of a hot day but enjoyed our time because the majority of Trail "A" is shaded. I didn't realize OKC had so many big trees! All along the way are bird houses, interpretive displays, trail maps, etc. The trails are gravel and well maintained. There is a pond and several creeks which makes for an even more interesting hike. Today we returned to try hiking Trail "B." It was not as flat as "A," but it was also mostly in the shade and followed the creeks. On Saturdays in June and July, they open at 8AM instead of 9AM so we were there when they opened. We even saw a large deer on our hike this morning! We also saw several large birds at the creek. We have not tried Trail "C" yet. There is a small Visitor's Center with displays. Children were playing in the creek yesterday when we went and we noticed several families enjoying a picnic in a shaded covered pavilion. There was also a nice playground next to the large pond. There is no charge for the park. Dogs are not allowed. As they say at Martin Park Nature Center, "Please leave only footprints, take only memories. Don't kill anything but time!"

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okc, ok
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Lovely Walk in the Woods!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Enjoyable for walking and observing. As a family, we could relax together on a pleasant day. The Nature Center building is also worth visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Park Nature Center also viewed

 
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to Martin Park Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Park Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Martin Park Nature Center to your Saves list