We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy building with crappy food! Over priced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shorty Small's Restaurant

Shorty Small's Restaurant
2037 S Meridian Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73108
(405) 947-0779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,412 restaurants in Oklahoma City
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We have moved to a new and improved location on Meridian. No longer located on Reno, just 2 minutes down the road on Meridian.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fancy building with crappy food! Over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My 18$ ribs were microwaved, i was so disappointed. I've seriously had better ribs at apple bees. There are so many other good options around i wouldn't stop here.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_GM_OKC, General Manager at Shorty Small's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I'm sorry your ribs weren't fallin'off-the-bone tender and delicious. If you would e-mail me at bill@shortysmalls.com, I'd love to make it up to you. Thanks for giving me a chance to fix this for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    34
    30
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto On Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dried tired food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We waited forever to be served after we first sat down. Our server was so uninterested.
We ordered the ribs since it is their specialty, not!! The ribs were dry, little sauce and had so much burnt charcoal on them.
Not impressive. I can understand why there was hardly anyone in there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_GM_OKC, General Manager at Shorty Small's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I'm sorry your experience was disappointing. Please e-mail me at bill@shortysmalls.com, so I can make this right. Thanks for giving me a chance to fix this for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good eatin place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The food was good, waitress was friendly and got all our orders right, didn't take long to get our food. The manager came over and asked if we were staying at one of the local hotels and since we were we got a 15% discount.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_GM_OKC, General Manager at Shorty Small's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your experience at Shorty SMall's - thanks for the kind words and support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Keep driving!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

First all the service was good. Really was hoping to make up some ground with great food. Maybe just and off night but have a feeling this is par for the course.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_GM_OKC, General Manager at Shorty Small's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I'm sorry your experience wasn't satisfactory. If you would e-mail me at bill@shortysmalls.com, I'd love to make it up to you next time you're driving through Oklahoma City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivelostmyself
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not good food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I was in the mood for some good BBQ. My teenage daughter had been here and told me it wasn't good, but I wanted to try it. We were quickly seated and our waiter was very friendly and prompt. I was under the impression it was a BBQ place, but there wasn't hardly any BBQ on the menu, and none on the children's menu. I was disappointed there was no sausage, but ordered the brisket and rib plate for $17. It went further downhill when the food came out. My ribs were so dry and burned (not just blackened on the outside from smoking or grilling, but burned) I couldn't eat them. It was a cross between charcoal and boot leather. The brisket had no flavor, and was more fat than meat. I actually like fat, but I like the meat too and there wasn't any here. There was a large order of fries on my plate (no potato salad served) along with a hard biscuit and a bowl of cabbage with no dressing for cole slaw. All-in-all, we had 2 adult plates and 3 kid meals and spent almost $70 for bad food. However, my 5 year old liked his mac'n cheese and the dinner salad my daighter had was great. We had good service so I left a good tip, but I will not darken their doorstep again.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill_GM_OKC, General Manager at Shorty Small's Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I'm sorry your ribs and brisket weren't delicious. Glad to hear you enjoyed the salad and your server. Our goal always is to serve great food with friendly service, and we strive constantly for excellence. If you would e-mail me at bill@shortysmalls.com, I'd love to make this up to you. Thanks for giving me a chance to fix this for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorty Small's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shorty Small's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorty Small's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.