We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average despite the hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shorty Small's Restaurant

Shorty Small's Restaurant
2037 S Meridian Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73108
(405) 947-0779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 1,412 restaurants in Oklahoma City
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: We have moved to a new and improved location on Meridian. No longer located on Reno, just 2 minutes down the road on Meridian.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Just average despite the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Look harder if you want BBQ. The prices were high for the value. I had pulled pork and rib dinner. Slaw was in tiniest, thimble cup and very dry. pork was OK but no real seasoning, ribs were over-cooked, thin, tasteless. beans in small dish wer just plain average with littel taset.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    34
    30
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food, Better Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Always a good meal at Shorty's. This time it was enhanced by superior service by our server Chris. He had my wife check the doneness of her steak and gladly took it back when it appeared to be underdone. Basically he gave just a little extra, always a sign of a professional.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not Worth It”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I received a gift certificate so we tried this again after an earlier unimpressive experience. The service was not great and the food just did not taste good. I was unable to finish my meal and felt ill later after eating it. Received another gift certificate several months ago and have not gathered my courage to see if the new location has straightened the problems out.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This place has very good food and it's very casual. They just moved to a nicer place recently. We like the atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Business Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Have been in a couple times since they have move South on Meridian.
Had the catfish, it was a nice size portion, tasted fresh.
Wait staff seemed untrained, Maybe new.
Second trip tryed the lunch special, it was home cook style,
Pretty good. Again the wait staff was weak part of the visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorty Small's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shorty Small's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorty Small's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.