We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Wine Bar & Bistro

Metro Wine Bar & Bistro
6418 N Western Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73116-7322
405-840-9463
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Metro Wine Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,432 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 63rd
Salem, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was surprised at the level of sophistication of this restaurant. The food was excellent and the special entree was extraordinary. The wine list had great selections and the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. It had a elegant but casual feeling. It was quiet enough to carry on a conversation too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    13
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious food and neat atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I can't complain about the food in Oklahoma City or Tulsa. I was impressed all around (except for the terrible hotel food that I encountered). This place had some neat options on the menu and everything I had was very tasty. The staff was also very attentive. I would visit again without hesitation.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Was expecting better, but not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I researched places to eat in Oklahoma City before I selected this one. I had the sauteed shrimp and scallops. Several of the shrimp were quite chewy but the scallops were fine. And it had a cream sauce with it that I suppose has something to do with the regional preferences but not what I was expecting. Staff was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Nice Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Okay, my GPS and I had difficulty finding the restaurant by its street address. I/We were looking on the other side of the street. Then, when we found the building, the restaurant signage is competing with others, and it is not clear that the entrance is on the side, not facing the street. So, after a time-consuming search, entering the restaurant is a pleasure. There seem to be two atmospheres to choose from: the bar side, very talkative and animated, versus the dining side, very quite and still. The bar side seems more crowded and easier to engage with new people. Both offer white table cloth and top-notch service. The wine list is extensive. The menu offered one beef selection, one pork selection, several fowl and fish selections. I was a bit surprised at the scarce red meat dishes in a cattle town, and when I learned that the kitchen was out of pork from the previous night, I was more surprised that they had not replenished than that a crowd had scarfed away one of the two red meats. The food was excellently prepared and presented - as expected at these premium prices.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superior in Soonerland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Walking into Chris and LaVeryl Lower's elegant French country inn-style bistro can be somewhat diorienting. The decor is elegant but comfortable, oil paintings from an adjacent gallery alternating with interesting supersized reproductions of the labels of famous French chateaus and the general ambience do not suggest the customary exuberance of Oklahoma City. The service is knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive and the location on the outskirts of the city's poshest neighborhood are all pluses; but, as we all know, it is all about the food. Fortunately, this is the Metro's greatest strength. I started with a poached pear salad which was so good I almost ordered a second. The wine by the glass menu is imaginative if somewhat arcane, but hand chosen by LaVeryl Lower and after sampling several (they offer 1 oz tasting samples at very reasonable prices) I found none that were not winners. For an entree, I tried a beef filet that was prepared exactly as ordered and was delicious, perfectly complemented by a glass of Turley zin. Finishing off with a dessert trio of bite-sized portions of chocolate brownie, creme brulee and raspberry sorbet was the perfect ending to a perfect meal. I returned the following night to sit at the bar, try the crabcake appetizer (excellent) and sample some more of the wines by the glass. The Pietro Chardonnay, the Failla Alban Viognier and the Favia Leviathan, a blend of Cabernet sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Merlot, were all excellent. This restaurant has been under the same owneership for 24 years; hope they go another 24.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to Metro Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Wine Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.