We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic place with mediocre food.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cattlemen's Steakhouse

Cattlemen's Steakhouse
1309 S Agnew Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73108-2427
405-236-0416
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 1,418 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A historic place with mediocre food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We love steak; and we know steak. So, naturally, we asked around for a good steak in OKC. We went to Cattlemen's, against the advice of two of our local taxi drivers during our stay in OKC. One warned if we were looking for a good steak, this place was more like a diner. But we had read the history of the place and thought it was worth trying. Diner doesn't begin to describe this place. It was literally the worst steak we have ever had- bland and dry enough to feel like shredded cardboard in your mouth (ordered medium). The pricing is much more expensive than we were prepared for. But, when we see a high priced menu, we are more than okay with paying that price- if the food is exceptional. This food was mediocre at best. And our water was not refilled until we were ready to pay the check and leave. It was, however, neat to see such an old building full of history. That was the one and only positive. We were sad to say we didn't enjoy our visit here at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    205
    92
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great landmark!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nice, cowboy atmosphere with what looks like original woodwork. Waiter was fast and efficient. Food was great. Steaks were considered to be the best eaten--filet mignon was a particular favorite.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Extremely great steak, great value, authentic Oklahoma venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cattleman's Steakhouse is a consummate Oklahoma steak experience and is where both locals and travelers meet to enjoy a fantasticly juicy, flavorful steak dinner. The prices are unbelievely reasonable for the steak that you get served, and the atmosphere is old timey Oklahoma steak joint. Not plush, not fancy, just steak done to perfection. Every second customer in the place is wearing a cowboy hat and boots, this place is the real deal! Be prepared to wait, they do not take reservations, and even at 3 pm on a Saturday afternoon there is an hour wait. Well worth it for the food and the overall experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dependable Quality & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I love this place. The steaks are great and the salad dressing is outstanding. Can't say enough good. Over the years I've eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at Cattlemen's and have never been disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We arrived at 1 pm on a Saturday with a party of 4. There were quite a few people waiting but they had a room upstairs set aside so you could sit down at a table while you wait. They had quoted 20 to 25 minutes for the wait and it took about 35 minutes. Once seated, the service was great - server was very pleasant and witty. Steaks were great as usual - I had the lunch porterhouse and my son had the fillet. Topped it off with some delicious chocolate meringue pie. We had a very nice time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattlemen's Steakhouse also viewed

Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to Cattlemen's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattlemen's Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.