We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of humanity!! Manager needs training in customer service.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3141 NW Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK 73112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #51 of 143 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lack of humanity!! Manager needs training in customer service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The experience was horrible. The staff was unwilling to help me with my situation and basically said "sorry deal with it". No where in their literature, on their web site or on the many phone conversations did they EVER mention that you must be 21 to rent a room. My son and his friend, both freshman in college, had gone to see a minor league hockey game, to get away from campus for a weekend. I had spoken with the front desk multiple times, requested my confirmation 3 times, they had put in the wrong email address and NEVER was a comment made regarding their age requirement. No where on their web site or on any documentation sent to me, that confirmed my reservation and clearly defined their cancelation policy, did it ever mention the need to be 21 to stay. This is my only child and I had never had to get a room for him alone before. At 10:30pm after the hockey game and after the hotel had charged my credit card for 2 nights stay, my son called and said they would not allow them to check in and stay the night. I spoke with the manager, who was incredibly rude, and asked if they could stay that night and I would make other arrangements for Saturday night. He adamantly said NO. I asked if he had children and he said yes. I asked what would he do in this situation? He said "I would have asked before I booked the room". I said "lesson learned", but for now I was 6 hours away and the boys were 4 hours from campus, they clearly could not drive back to school, we did not know anyone in Oklahoma and I didn't know what to do. I certainly did not want the boys sleeping in a parking lot in their car. I needed them to have a safe place for the night and we would figure out the rest. The manager said, "sorry they can't stay here". When I asked if he had any suggestions on where I could put them up for the night he said "they can't stay here", no suggestion, no help. This was unbelievable to me. My son and his friend went out to the car while I got on the phone to see if another hotel would allow them to stay. I found the Best Western in Oklahoma City and they were AMAZING! They did not even hesitate once to assist me and I was able to scan my information, sign a document taking full responsibility for the room rented and they gladly welcomed and allowed my son and his friend to stay 2 nights. The boys saw 2 minor league hockey games, stayed 2 nights at the Best Western and enjoyed getting away from campus for a weekend! I will NEVER recommend or stay at the Country Inn and Suites. I am telling everyone I know how rude and unhelpful the management was and letting them know the lack of compassion he had for a parent trying to make sure their son was safe for the night. By the way I am having to dispute the $180.00 they had charged the credit card even though they turned my son away. Be ware their web site and documentation does not fully disclose all of their policies and they do not take any responsibility for not making their preferences known. I do not recommend this establishment, however, I strongly recommend the BEST WESTERN!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Ellen, we do apologize for the troubles you, your son, and his friend faced while visiting Oklahoma City. It is the front desk staff's responsibility to let all guests know about our policy regarding guest age and they did indeed fail to do so. There was also no need for the front desk to charge your credit card. Your credit card has been credited with the amount it was charged on 4/14. The front desk agent responsible has also been reprimanded for saying he was the GM. Our GM Glenda Bowen has left a message for you as well to apologize on our hotels behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    19
    10
    10
See reviews for
32
16
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

stayed here with a friend before a dr visit at the hospital across the street. staff was great, recommended places to eat that were close. nice breakfast. outside pool was closed. used the business center to print directions. would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Theoktravler thank you for your taking the time to write about your experience and giving us a 5 star review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the Country Inn & Suites Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway. We go a long way in making sure all of our guests leave with a wonderful experience. We hope everything went well with the doctor’s visit. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is in a convenient location near the interstate, with many restaurants, a Target, Home Depot, Best Buy, Walgreens, and CVS nearby. It only takes minutes to get to downtown OKC from here.
The complimentary breakfast was awesome, during my two night stay they had omelettes, waffles, bacon, fresh fruit, yogurt and more. You can tell they put some thought into what they offer for breakfast as it's not the same scrambled eggs and sausage patties every day like you see at many hotels.
My room was clean, the bed was comfortable and shower was hot. The air conditioning/heating unit is controlled by a thermostat on the wall and kept the room a consistently comfortable temperature and was not noisy at all.
You could slightly hear guests in neighboring rooms if they were loud, but the rooms kept out most normal noise. There are not a lot of rooms on each floor as the building it tall but not wide, so there isn't a lot of foot traffic by your room.
The staff was very friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs.
You may find the rooms a bit crowded if you have 3 or 4 people in a room, but it was only noticeable when someone was sitting at the desk since the desk is in front of the bed so there was not a lot of room to walk by when someone was seated there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Travellalott thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the Country Inn & Suites Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway. Thank you for the kind words for the Be Our Guest hot breakfast buffet. We love offering our guests as many choices as possible to help get their day off to a proper start. Being close to countless restaurants and shopping centers is indeed another bonus for our guests. Please do come back soon should your travels bring you back into Oklahoma City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

On arrival my booking via booking.com was not on the system, but John on reception got things sorted for me and even upgraded me to a superior room. I was surprised at the low percentage for this hotel, as i could not fault it in anyway. The price was very competitive, the rooms excellent and the fitness room was adequate. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was really good. All the staff were more than helpful and I would definitely return here again. A great Hooters restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Yorkie1948 thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Country Inn & Suites Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway. We are glad that John was able to sort out the reservation mishap. We take great pride in offering our guests a great experience and a reasonable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have stayed here many times when attending horse shows. Our room is always super clean, comfortable and a good value. They even let us have our little Yorkie in our room (shhh it is a secret). Everyone is usually very friendly and they seem to be happy that you are their guest. Now that we live here, we do not have a reason to stay here anymore. Maybe with our review of their hotel, others will give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Steve thank you for the kind words about the Country Inn & Suites Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with our amazing staff and wonderful ammenities. Hope to see you here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I had not even stayed here and had booked with a 3rd party vendor (priceline) rooms at this hotel...long story made short here: our event got cancelled and so I believed I would be losing a good sum of money for the amount of rooms and duration of my anticipated stay due to the normal terms and policies of the 3rd party vendor (priceline). I called the hotel, asked for the manager and SHE WENT WAY BEYOND WHAT MOST MANAGERS WOULD HAVE DONE TO HELP ME OUT AND REMEDY THE SITUATION!!! I was excited and it speaks volumes about the character of the employees here for being so accommodating to their guests -- even prior to their arrival! The point of this story...avoid the stupid 3rd party vendors like priceline and just call up the hotel directly, they will treat you right! The employees here exemplify and embody the true "southern hospitality" that I have seen several other reviewers also refer to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Adam thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Country Inn & Suites Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway. Our GM Glenda Bowen is always willing to make sure guests are satisfied whether it was a fault to the hotel or not. We most certainly try to make sure everyone’s experience lets them know the true meaning of southern hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Country Inn & Suites from 21 Feb thru 25 Feb, 2014.
The location was very convenient to restaurants, hospitals, shopping malls and other points of interest in the city. The hotel staff made our stay enjoyable. The room was cleaned daily, the bed very confortable. We stayed on 2nd floor near the elevator and the room overlooked the expressway, however we heard no noise, the area was very quiet. The breakfast had a variety of both hot and cold items. Overall for the price we were well pleased with our stay there and would recommend to anyone traveling to OKC.

Room Tip: For a handicap acessable room, we stayed in #205, very quiet but convenient to the elevator. Also th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dunkin thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the Country Inn & Suites Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway. Our location indeed is a major plus being close to so many eateries, shopping, and hospitals. We always make sure that all of our guests are as happy as can be by offering a great value on the room and an amazing Be Our Guest breakfast buffet in the mornings to start the day off right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway

Address: 3141 NW Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK 73112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the newly renovated Country Inn & Suites Oklahoma City at Northwest Expressway, OK, you can choose from accommodations that include both standard rooms and spacious suites with amenities like 40 inch flat screen TV's with over 120 cable channels, free Wi-Fi, a lending library, an outdoor pool and a complimentary breakfast every morning. This hotel's property is near the Bricktown District in Oklahoma City, which means you're just minutes from exciting venues such as Remington Park. If you're hosting a conference in the area, we also boast a large 1200 square foot meeting facility with everything you need to make your event a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Hotel Oklahoma City
Country Inn And Suites Oklahoma City
Country Inn Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Oklahoma City Northwest Expressway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.