We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2811 Northwest Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK 73112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #75 of 144 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Traveling for business, hotel was good value and location. Was upgraded to a suite, which was great, however bathroom layout was odd, large bathroom left you cramped for space. Room was clean. Staff was friendly. Parking no issue, good restaurant selection to choose from

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear TravelingSimpsons,

Thank you very much for taking time to post positive comments about your recent stay with us! We always strive to make every stay a complete success and we are happy that we were able to accommodate you with a free upgrade. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
2
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I can't believe it, a hotel room with an Amana AC unit that allows you to keep the fan on even when the AC compressor has cycled off. No AC unit turning on and off all night! And the fan drowned out the street noise. Yea! If you are thinking that is a dumb thing to get excited about, then you must not be a habitual light sleeper like I am. Oh, and another good thing, you are not stuck with all foam pillows. If you like feather pillows they throw one in the mix. It also helped that the place was clean, was the location we needed, and had a very polite staff.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid kids jumping off their beds onto your ceiling.... stay on the top floor. At le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear jelh47,

Thank you for your positive comments concerning your recent visit to our property! I'm glad you enjoyed a relaxing nights sleep. Our staff hopes to make every stay a complete success as we look forward to seeing you on your next trip in.

Best regards,

Justin Epperson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our group was booked into 7 rooms. When we tried to check in @ 3:40 PM this past Saturday, not all of our rooms were ready. Even after they accommodated all of us, I could still see housekeepers in the halls at 5:20 PM...after overhearing a desk clerk tell a phone customer that they were sold out for the night, so I'm guessing a few other people had to wait to check in also. That said, nice rooms, appear to be recently refurbished, bedding seemed clean, a few real HD channels on TV. Good breakfast, and front desk personnel were courteous and helpful. But, it appeared that some chipped spots on the bathtub had been repaired rather amateurishly, and the bathroom sink actually had a small crack, wonder how long it will be before it leaks? Somewhat surprised, for the nice condition of the rest of the property, that those items weren't properly addressed by maintenance. I'll rate them "very good" since overall, it was a good night's stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about our property and your recent visit! We appreciate all feedback and strive to make every stay a complete success. We were short staffed as you noted that day and I apologize for inconvenience at check in. The maintenance issues are currently being worked on and we always appreciate having them brought to our attention. We hope you see you again on your next trip to Oklahoma City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We travel for softball and never had a problem with booking a block of rooms. However 2 of our rooms were given away. And then we were told after everyone paid for 5 nights we would have to check out a day early BC they already booked on top of our reservations. On my room we did chl out early and I explained we paid cash but held room on credit for dep. They funded card and just said pops. They Didn't care one bit. They were nothing but rude and snotty about everything.
They have ruined our experience with H.I company and with all the teams we are in contract w and asuch as we travel we wont be spending our 4-5,000 a trip (2xs a month) somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear tmaself,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We strive everyday to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is visually pleasing. The staff was friendly, but not memorable. The room was clean and we slept well. The only complaints we really had it that the bed and couch were very stiff. Also, the shower curtain is not large enough. We couldn't prevent water from leaking out of the tub. The breakfast selection was nice and had more variety than most HIE hotels. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal, Kansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After driving all day, I went and stayed at the Holiday inn. Now I had just had a horrible stay at a run down Holiday Inn in Wichita the night before and was not looking forward to this. I was driving ahead of a thunderstorm and pulled into the hotel with pleasantly surprised. Updated outside and beautiful lobby had me smiling. Then when I went to the room- wow. great view, great fixtures. Frig and microwave present without looking like a kitchenette. Mirror wall, nice bedding, just a great room. Breakfast was great although typical of a Holiday Inn. Just a great stay. The only drawback was the bathroom, a little crowded but very nice. Definately worth another stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMARILLO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. Your no less than 10 minutes from any type of entertainment in he city. Your right up the street from Penn Square Mall and right down the street from a fairly new Dave & Busters and other restaurants. You also have easy access to I44. The hotel was built in 1999 and underwent a major facelift just 2 years ago. It is very clean and amazingly quiet. The hotel staff were very friendly. They offer quite a big breakfast in the morning. The rooms were clean and modern. I guess my only gripes would be as to why they don't have a mini fridge in there and the mattress was like sleeping on a rock. Price wise the going rate was $107 per night (minus taxes) but I was able to secure the Government rate of $81 since I was there on business. Overall it was a great stay that was worth what was paid. Next time I come back will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq

Address: 2811 Northwest Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK 73112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 144 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oklahoma City-Penn Square is just minutes from the Fairgrounds, Cowboy Hall of Fame, Bricktown, and Downtown OKC. Located between Integris Baptist Medical Center and Penn Square shopping mall. Stay in one of our King Studies, King Suites, King Jacuzzi Suites or 2-room Executive Jacuzzi Suites. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Oklahoma City, OK and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq Hotel Oklahoma City
Holiday Inn Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.