We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Away! Run Away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2811 Northwest Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK 73112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #76 of 144 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Run Away! Run Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The lobby looked decent, but then I got to the room. After 30 minutes the heater STILL was not producing heat, and it had a terrible clanking noise. I asked the front desk for a different room, which was grudgingly provided. When I went inside of it, the bathroom was absolutely filthy, including multiple hairs in the bathtub under a mat that was black with grime. Got refund and went to the Hampton across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEOKC-GM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to share your encounter regarding our hotel. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your experience with us and regrettable the room condition you received was less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your comments and will share this with my front desk and housekeeping teams. Your feedback is of great importance to me and allows me to monitor and improve our services.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts,

Samantha Eggleston
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
2
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Excellent hotel, convenient and reasonably priced, quiet, close to everything in OKC. Have stayed here many times. Better than Hilton next door. Breakfast is good and the area is kept clean. Very ample parking and right off main roads....

Room Tip: Get backside of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This property seemed fairly new or newly renovated. It is in close to several restaurants, a mall, and not far from where we and had an event in a gallery district the Paseo. Breakfast was also included, though there is no restaurant on the property. A sports bar at a hotel next door, was where they'd send guests who asked where the lounge was, just a short walk over there.
Even though this isn't a full service hotel it fit our needs as we left there early in the am each day and got back late each evening.

Room Tip: rooms on the back of the hotel are quiet, front faces street and highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Checotah
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have always been very happy with the accomodations. I recently stayed 3 nights and on 2 of those nights had to park in the street. The young man working the front desk said "I can guarantee, well almost guarantee that your car will not be hit; we have customers park in the street all of the time". I was not happy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I love this hotel. I stay here quite often. This staff is very friendly and the rooms are nice. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

I come to OKC frequently and I enjoy my stay here. I have stayed at several other HIX locations but this one is just right. I had one problem several months back with parking but the adjacent hotel was under construction. This area is ideal for staying a long time as I usually am here for a week. Location is near Penn Square mall and other good places.

Has a small business center but they spared no luxury with a color printer.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

First, let me say that I am "regular" at HIE hotels -- I find them to be generally very good for all the aspects of lodging that we seek. And as far as the room itself goes, this hotel was no exception -- in fact it was just recently renovated, and it looks sparkling new and clean. Everything in the room and hallways and lobby was prim and perfect.

However, even with all that being said, I would be hard pressed to recommend this one to a fellow traveler, for three reasons:
(1) When I walked up to the desk, they immediately told me that they were oversold for the night, and could not provide our room type per our reservation; they did however give us a handicapped room on the first floor. Such rooms are great for the handicapped, but lack some of the normal nice features in a regular room. And the rubber mat under the bottom sheet made for a hot restless night.
(2) The breakfast room is one of the smallest I have ever seen in a HIE hotel. Only seven tables -- three of which were about the size of a pizza pan. Some people had to stand around and try and eat breakfast, or sit at one of the lobby couches -- although we admittedly came at just the wrong time -- when a sports team was there in full force. It's a real challenge climbing over those gym bags to get to and from the food counter.
(3) Parking was atrocious; we had to park on the street about a half block away. Management will tell you that part of their parking lot is being used by construction stuff for a new hotel next to them. (A competitor uses your parking lot for their construction needs -- geez!) Nevertheless, even with those spots added back, their parking lot still looks rather small and insufficient to me.

So, with all that in mind, I would again say that it's a very new and attractive place, in a nice location too ........ but just "underpowered and under-designed" in some key logistical functions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq

Address: 2811 Northwest Expressway, Oklahoma City, OK 73112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 144 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oklahoma City-Penn Square is just minutes from the Fairgrounds, Cowboy Hall of Fame, Bricktown, and Downtown OKC. Located between Integris Baptist Medical Center and Penn Square shopping mall. Stay in one of our King Studies, King Suites, King Jacuzzi Suites or 2-room Executive Jacuzzi Suites. Hotel features include free local phone calls and a complimentary Express Start continental breakfast. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Oklahoma City, OK and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq Hotel Oklahoma City
Holiday Inn Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oklahoma City-Penn Sq, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.