We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Osteology

Museum of Osteology
10301 S. Sunnylane Rd., Oklahoma City, OK 73160
405-814-0006
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Osteology is "America's Only Skeleton Museum". The Museum of Osteology, located in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, is a unique educational experience. Focusing on the form and function of the skeletal system, this 7000 square ft. museum displays hundreds of skulls and skeletons from all corners of the world. Exhibits include adaptation, locomotion, classification and diversity of the vertebrate kingdom. Open Monday-Friday 8am-5pm Saturday 11am-5pm Sunday 1pm-5pm.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very amazing place!! Would very much recommend it to parents. Staff very helpful with questions. Interesting afternoon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    75
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“I could spend all day here! So many skeletons and lots of interesting information!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

So many skeltetons! Giant hump back whale, tiny mouse, humans, lion, monkeys, and many, many more. And admission is only $6 per person. Definitely worth the money!! I'll go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My daughter and I visited on a Saturday morning. We were visiting from out-of-town and had some time to find something to do. To be honest, I wasn't very excited about going to look at "bones" but the admission price was reasonable and I figured it would be a way to kill some time. The outside of the building is not very impressive - it looks like any other warehouse-type building out on the edge of town but once you enter the showroom, it is rather impressive. The displays are all well done and easy to understand. The skeleton of the humpbacked whale suspended in the center of the room is the centerpiece of the museum and the video describing the processing of the specimen is excellent. There were several people there at the same time that we visited including one, maybe two, school groups. A trip to this museum would be an excellent outing for a homeschooling family.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the museum of osteology ok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we had a wonderful time. took grandson and he loved it. there was hands on things for him to interact with. we all learned something new. I was amazed at how intricate the work was

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Must see!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When you come to OK you must visit the Museum of Osteology. Lots of bones of many animals. My boys just love to look at the animal skeletons and even the bugs eating the flesh off of the animals. It takes you to a whole new look when you see past the skin and fur. It is fun to try to guess which animal is what and very exciting to see you little ones know so many animals even without their skin. The video of them working behind the scenes if interesting. The guys also come out and talk with you and answer any questions my boys had even if they were not that important. They have a wonderful gift shop and a penny machine which my boys collect. They still talk about it even though we have not gone in a while. There is no place like this museum in the world so come to Oklahoma and see the Museum of Osteology!!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Osteology also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Osteology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Osteology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.