We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond what I expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Banjo Museum

American Banjo Museum
9 East Sheridan Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73104
405-604-2793
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 117 things to do in Oklahoma City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A National Treasure in downtown Oklahoma City. The American Banjo Museum contains over 300 banjos on display and is the only museum of its type dedicated to preserving and promoting the music and heritage of America's native musical instrument - the banjo. An interpretive exhibit tells the evolution of the banjo from its humble roots in American slavery, to bluegrass, to folk and world music.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beyond what I expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I'm here in OKC & thought "why not"... Am I glad I stopped in. The hundreds of banjos are like fine art and displayed to their fullest advantage. Video recordings provided the history (which helped as I knew nothing).. These are not ordinary picking-n-grinning instruments, but you just need to see them - as I cannot begin to describe their beauty!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Loved this museum even though we're not into banjos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a lovely museum to spend a couple of hours at. It's beautifully designed and provides a rich history of the banjo in creative ways--pictures and videos. I had no idea there were so many varieties of banjos and gained a new respect for the instrument and those who play it. We especially enjoyed the video that portrayed the colorful history of the banjo. Conveniently located in Bricktown so check it out! It's very inexpensive and well worth the few dollars!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not a big banjo fan, but enjoyable hour spent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not sure what I expected, but this didn't blow me away. I enjoyed seeing the amazing decorations on some of the banjos, but I lost interest after less than an hour. Still, probably worth the six bucks admission. Glad i went, but I don't think I'll go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A TOTALLY FUN SURPRISE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Who knew? A great experience to hear the music and see the workmanship of a large collection of beutiful instruments. There were also entertaining videos of charismatic banjo performers. A very rewarding hour..

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nocona, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

A unique place for a unique instrument. You learn a little about the history of the banjo and have the chance to view highlights of the banjo used in movies. A small section is dedicated to the Banjo Hall of Fame, there are a few displays featuring the instruments of famous players, and you will never see more banjos in one place at one time.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Banjo Museum also viewed

 
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to American Banjo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Banjo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.