We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY FAR AWAY FROM SANDS HOTEL!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Motel & RV Park

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oklahoma City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Motel & RV Park
Save
You added Sands Motel & RV Park to your Saves list
721 S. Rockwell Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 145 Hotels in Oklahoma City
San Diego
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“STAY FAR AWAY FROM SANDS HOTEL!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

my wife and I stayed at this HORRIBLE motel and regret ever driving into the lot. it is by far the most dreadful place we have ever stayed. The Manager, Lori is on drugs daily and the rather large Ogre looking housekeeper is a rude hateful woman with a complex. SHE WENT AS FAR AS PHYSICALLY ASSULTING MY WiFE simply because she was asking and complaining to her about the dirty floors in the rooms. there are holes in the walls to the next rooms and the smell in the room causes one to worry there might be dead animal or person under the bed!! the place is nothing but drug users and if you are not one of them you are not going to be welcome, or comfortable! Keep away at all costs, you will be happier at ANY hotel other than this one.

Room Tip: Choose Motel 6 or courtesy inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The room they placed us in smelled very bad. The mattress was lop sided and the boxsprings busted on one side. The room was full of flies and they didnt have fly spray. The manager was loud and dressed like a hooch. She would run and hide from people to keep from addressing the problems in that horrible place. We staye because we were short on funds but we will sleep outside before returning there. We saw them throw several families out caue the manager lori didnt like them!!!! Never go to that motel if you can help it. The lady maid did her best and we saw her constantly going to bad the rest of the workers there didnt help her out much.

Room Tip: no best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at this place last week only because we were in town for a few days and were trying to save some money. The first room we looked at had a hole in the sink. The second one, which we wound up staying in, was equally as bad. The room smelled like urine and there was a pee stain on the bed. Thank God we had a blow up mattress. We made sure to bleach the bathroom and the sink area before we touched anything. When we called to the office to ask for more towels, the lady said that she would see what she could do. HORRIBLE SERVICE! Lastly, when we were packing up to leave, we noticed bedbugs crawling all over a pillow on the bed. When I was checking out, I told the guy at the front desk about the bug situation, but it really didn't seem to faze him. On my way out of town I made sure to call the health department to complain. Hopefully, this place gets shut down, and hopefully the owners will get wise and just tear the whole place down and start over. This place was just straight up NASTY and I would not recommend this place to anyone. People, if you call this place, and see that it's price is cheap, there is a reason: it's run-down.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

If you're in need of a real crap shoot of a hotel room, check out the Sands Motel on I-40 and Rockwell (southside of 40). We were there a few weekends ago, and I'm pretty sure that every scary movie happened in that motel. You couldn't make it look worse if you tried. The "refrigerator" that came with the room had a door that wasn't attached. The stove had holes eaten through the bottoms of the burners. There was a hole in the bottom of the tub BESIDE the drain. The toilet was connected to the wall via Duct Tape. Holes in the ceiling were "patched" with said tape. Lamps were bent and broken. Tables were broken. Sheets were stained. Closet doors fell if opened all the way. Stains on the walls. The list goes on and on. To top it off, we googled the ratings of this place afterward, and the only thing that came up were that:

a.) Timothy McVeigh stayed there the night before the Murrah building was bombed.
b.) A terrorist involved in 9/11 (forgot his name) stayed there the night of Sept 10th, 2001.
c.) the only other news that came up was that a candle light vigil was held for a girl that was murdered there by her father.

But, hey, at least they had cable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My family and I were stuck at the Sands Motel on Christmas Eve night due to a massive snowstorm in Oklahoma City. When we checked in, we were told we would be given a room with two beds. Instead, we walked into a room with a single double bed. We went back to the front desk and they had to send somebody out to find a room with two beds because they didn't even know the rooms that had two beds.

Our room smelled absolutely awful, almost like something died in there (maybe it did). The bathroom was small and dirty. The heater worked pretty well, thankfully. The hotel is very sketchy and the area is not good. It is convenient to the highway but that's about it. Staff was okay for a one-star motel but the bottom line is that this place is not somewhere I would ever stay again. My clothes smelled disgusting for two washes after this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel & RV Park

Address: 721 S. Rockwell Avenue, Oklahoma City, OK
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 145 Hotels in Oklahoma City
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Sands Motel And Rv Park
Sands Motel & Rv Park Hotel Oklahoma City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Motel & RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.