We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got it to go! Enjoyable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine

Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine
211 W Main St, Norman, OK 73069-1310
405-217-8424
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 291 Restaurants in Norman
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Estes Park, CO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Got it to go! Enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Visiting with family with 3 small kids, going out is not always pleasant. So we called this restaurant and brought out dinner out home where the kids could run and scream and no one would care.
The food was ready at the time promised. on the street parking was plentiful at 5:15 when we picked up the food. They got the order absolutely correct. And the food was wonderful. It was spiced exactly right. We asked for a 2 out of 5 spicy level. The spice was enjoyable, but not too hot. We were given plenty of white rice to go with the entrees. The curry was especially tasty. Recommend you give this on a try if you enjoy Thai food.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suzhou, China
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Presentation and Atmosphere truly Enchanting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Walking into this restaurant is like walking into another world...truly enchanting. When we want a private place to talk and enjoy intimate conversation, this is the place to go in Norman. It is relatively quiet and each booth has tall booths which provide the illusion of privacy.

The prices can be a bit steep compared to other Thai restaurants in Norman, however. The flaming coconut soup is full of meat, and the presentation is simply dazzling.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quality has declined since my first visit several months ago.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Appetizers were good, but main dishes were flawed, either too salty or too bland. The red curry was OK. We had eaten here the last time we were in Norman and found everything delicious. When we ordered the same dishes this time, we were disappointed. I'm sad because I had really enjoyed eating here before and had looked forward to returning.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsby, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Going hungry is a better option, at least its free!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

After waiting for 20 minutes just to get a waitress to stop at the table to take our drink order, we waited another 45 minutes for our food. The food had a great taste but it was COLD, not even lukewarm. The waitress was rude, unprofessional and not qualified for any job involving working with people. The wine I ordered was less than a tablespoon of wine in the glass for $7.00!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
“Wonderful atmosphere, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Sweet Basil is my go-to restaurant in Norman for a cozy and comfortable place to eat with great food. The decor is very nice, and there are comfortable (but stylish) booths and a large and enchanting fish tank. I normally do not like Thai very much, but the food here is very good. I have taken dates here (it feels very romantic) and also friends. Service has always been very good, and I have never been dissapointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Basil Thai Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.