We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork at its Finest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van's Pig Stand

Van's Pig Stand
320 N Porter Ave, Norman, OK 73071
+1 405-703-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 261 Restaurants in Norman
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Hamburgers, Diner
Description: Founded in 1930, Van's Pig Stand is the oldest single family owned Bar-B-Q Restaurant in the state of Oklahoma. We are most famous for our Pig Sandwiches, Hickory Smoked Pork Ribs, Vanized Potatoes and our homemade deserts. Our Norman location opened in 1994. Since it has been voted best bar-b-q by the readers of the Norman Gazette. Come inside for some great food and friendly service. If you're in a hurry come though our drive by. For even faster service, call in your order 1st. We would love to accomodate you in any way we can. Please call for more information.
Restaurant details
Description: Founded in 1930, Van's Pig Stand is the oldest single family owned Bar-B-Q Restaurant in the state of Oklahoma. We are most famous for our Pig Sandwiches, Hickory Smoked Pork Ribs, Vanized Potatoes and our homemade deserts. Our Norman location opened in 1994. Since it has been voted best bar-b-q by the readers of the Norman Gazette. Come inside for some great food and friendly service. If you're in a hurry come though our drive by. For even faster service, call in your order 1st. We would love to accomodate you in any way we can. Please call for more information.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pork at its Finest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a legendary Bar B Que Pig Stand. Same place for more years than one can remember. Their Que is always moist and favorfull. Looks like a dive but your there for the Que not to make a home.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jev V, Owner at Van's Pig Stand, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the high praises of our BBQ! They are very much appreciated! Please come back & visit us anytime! Sincerely, The Van's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Oklahoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Van's Pig Stand in Norman is definitely the best barbecue in Oklahoma! (We have eaten at the original Van's Pig Stand in Shawnee and another one in Moore and we think this specific location is better than both of those others we have tried).

Why do we think Van's in Norman is the best, even better than the other Van's in the area.

1. Meat is always tender, delicious, and moist. We have never had poorly prepared meat there. The ribs always have outstanding texture and have never been overdone. The pulled pork is taste and moist. The chicken is cooked just right. Sliced brisket is fantastic on a sandwich bun or just as a meat item on a 2 or 3 meat plate.

2. The barbecue sauce has an excellent balance of sweetness and spice. We like a little bit of bite in our BBQ sauce and Van's delivers. My wife also loves the hotter sauce that is available but I take the regular sauce. Every time we go there we use up a complete little bottle of the stuff. I drown my french fries in the sauce and enjoy a little slice of heaven!

3. Fries are excellent! They are (it seems to me) fresh cut in the back and there has only been one time they were under done. On that occasion they made me new ones without an objection. This says to me that the oil is kept at a proper temperature all the time there, and the location has a great fryer or the employees are well trained.

4. The employees are friendly and helpful. The mode is to get in line, order, get your own drinks, and get your own food when they call your name. But there is also a bus-person in the main eating area and that person will also get refills, bring more sauce, and get you other things you need. They're always ready to help with a smile. It's enjoyable.

5. The lunch specials are outstanding -- great prices and good volume for a lunch meal!

I could go on and on, but we love this place and regularly drive over 30 miles to eat there, passing other BBQ restaurants on the way!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jev V, Owner at Van's Pig Stand, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the tremendous compliment & for giving us such a detailed account of your dining experience with us Pat! It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoy everything we have to offer here at Van’s. Please come back and see us anytime! Sincerely, The Van’s Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vans Pig Stand, Norman,ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Genrally lots of people in and around location. Food was alright but many neighbors think it a bit more. Access is easy from the street and take out is bit slow but inside little faster. Nothing overall negative to state. It was OK.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jev V, Owner at Van's Pig Stand, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you sharing your opinion about our restaurant with us. Customer feedback is very important to us, so we will indeed discuss your concerns about the timeliness of take-out orders with our staff. Also, was there anything in particular about our BBQ that persuaded you to give us a three-star rating? We would love to know how we can make your dining experiences with us more pleasurable. Please email us at vanspigstandmarketing@gmail.com or send us a message through Trip Advisor to share any suggestions you might have to help us improve. We would appreciate it if you gave us another chance sometime. Sincerely, The Van’s Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Best bbq on planet earth!!! Whenever my family plans a trip to Norman 2 things are a must, OU football and pork at Vans!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jev V, Owner at Van's Pig Stand, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review about our BBQ Dave! We welcome any feedback we get, but it's obviously very satisfying to hear such great things about our food! Please come back & see us any time! Sincerely, The Van's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great barbeque!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The first thing that hits you is the Arima of hickory burning in the smoker. Then step inside and enjoy some mouthwatering delicious barbecue. The Smokey flavor, the tender meat and ample portion combine to make for a great meal. Atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. As soon as you step outside and sell the smoker, you are tempted to repeat the process.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jev V, Owner at Van's Pig Stand, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about our restaurant & we appreciate your compliments of our BBQ! We love to hear of our customer's experiences and hope you will join us again soon! Sincerely, The Van's Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van's Pig Stand also viewed

 

Been to Van's Pig Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van's Pig Stand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.