We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry: ------> Time for a deep cleaning” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Diner

Diner
213 E Main St, Norman, OK 73069-1304
405-329-6642
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 291 Restaurants in Norman
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner
Restaurant details
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Sorry: ------> Time for a deep cleaning”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

~~~
Please know I hate giving negative reviews, but it is what it is!

I love diners, but just because a place is old is no excuse for grit and grime. Food was fair, staff was not real interested in the restaurant or my Huevos Rancheros.

Now if I never have to go into that tiny hidden restroom in the back again that's ok by me, it spooked me that staff cleans up in there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Local favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The rating and comments reflect a couple of meals from diners in our group. You can read other reviews for info on the decor...but it really is a diner. The blueberry pancakes were full of em, like it should be. Pancakes were probably 8 inches each--a generous size for sure. My husband had the eggs with potatoes and biscuits and gravy. The potatoes were his favorite part of the meal. Hard to find good pan cooked red potatoes that don't taste like the grease they are cooked in. These were great. The biscuit and gravy...well not so much. But, we will definitely eat here again...probably tomorrow in fact Not sure when we will be back in Norman.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family owned and a city landmark...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A pleasant spot for some that would call it a "hole in wall" location in downtown Norman, Oklahoma. Counter and booth seating squeezed in a long and narrow building that you can not miss (barber shop next door) while driving downtown old Norman. Family owned with pleasant staff - so out of towners will be welcomed as are the locals. Food is excellent - breakfast and lunch. Strong coffee ++ compared to the chain restaurants. The Diner was showcased on Bobby Fay's TV show, "Diners & Dives" well something like that. Oh yes don't get too comfortable with your Sunday newspaper - other folks are waiting to sit down and eat!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Local color!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The is The Place for breakfast out in Norman. You'll enjoy a tasty meal and experience the atmosphere of an old-timey diner. I've been visiting The Diner for decades, and nothing ever changes -- and I mean that in the very best way possible!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“GO HERE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

So, we saw this place on Food Network's "Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives". The place looked bigger, but that may have been due to our big-screen tv...

Smallish, and the décor hasn't been updated since the 70's, but that's because they focus their time & effort on turning our GREAT food!!! Two people can eat for $25.00, and that includes a decent tip for the friendly wait staff!!!!

Whatever your reason for making it out to SE Oklahoma City or Norman, make the time to go here!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diner also viewed

 

Been to Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.