We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tarahumara's Mexican Cafe

Tarahumara's Mexican Cafe
702 N Porter Ave, Norman, OK 73071
(405) 360-8070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 291 Restaurants in Norman
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My family and I went on a Saturday afternoon, the wait was 10-15 min but we only waited about 5 min! The food was delicious!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    57
    23
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norman
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Always crowded and definitely worth the wait! Owner, EFrain, is always there to make sure your dining experience is perfect. They even have cameras in the kitchen so you can watch your meal being prepared! Don't walk, run to Taramaharas!!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Service was bad and you have to order something for your 3 year old or the charge you. Food was OK but not great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

They did not blink an eye at our large group. We arrived at 4:45pm because of our size of 12 plus a baby. We were seated immediately so arriving before 5pm is good advice.
Our server was amazing, the food was excellent & arrived quick. Our chips/salsa, drinks NEVER emptied.
The only "negative" I could give here is my ticket was wrong twice but they fixed it without any problem until it was completely correct so be sure when you're with a large group to check it over before paying your bill.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When I want mexican food in Norman this is where I go. Excellent service, good food and good drinks (margarita of course). Very large menu to choose from. This place is always packed and noisey, but worth it in my opinion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarahumara's Mexican Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Tarahumara's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tarahumara's Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.