We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but nothing special...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sooner Legends Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sooner Legends Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sooner Legends Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 24th Avenue SW, Norman, OK 73072   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Rockwall, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing special...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

Room was OK for the price. Heated pool was cold. Room comes with two free breakfast buffets, but if you have to purchase more, it's not worth the extra $6.95. Hotel would not accept the $10 coupon I printed online because I booked the room online from the hotel website. They said I had to call by phone to book my room in order to use the coupon. Of course, you will not find these directions on their website.

  • Liked — Sports Memoribilia
  • Disliked — Breakfast Buffet
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
16
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Chose the hotel for the uniqueness, we where going to the OU vs Texas A&M game. The added features where the attached bar and restaurant plus the breakfast buffet. Things started going south when we arrived. Once we checked in, we walked into the hall of the hotel…nice pictures of former Sooner greats but the smell of stale cigarette smoke was overpowering.
Once we got into the room we found a signed taped to the mini fridge and microwave saying…”If you want to rent the refrigerator, contact the desk, cost is $10 a night.” I walked down to the front desk to complain that for $160 a night they could unlock the EMPTY refrigerator. (By the way it was not unplugged, so this isn’t an energy use issue) I was told by the manager that not all rooms have fridges and it’s NOT FAIR! That I have a fridge and others don’t for the same price. I related it to an exit row isle seat on a plane…not everyone gets one, but you all pay the same price…For $160 a night they wouldn’t budge. They just stick it to people on game day weekends. The manager even made a snide comment about if I want to check out she could take care of that for me…I told her to find me a room comparable room in town for the same price on a game day weekend and I would.
Next issue was the attached bar…At first it was ok, a little too smoky but ok. Appropriately it was a sports bar, another reason we picked this hotel was the attached bar/restaurant so we didn’t have to drive. The Sports bar goes karaoke on Friday night so instead of have a few drinks and dinner with friends while watching the Friday games, we had to endure THE WORST karaoke I have ever seen in my entire life…fully equipped with some strung out air guitarist performing table to table…VERY WEIRD.
The free breakfast was more boot camp quality than hotel breakfast quality.
For the money stay a few block down at the La Quinta Inn and Suites. Nicer Rooms, Beds, better breakfast, and they don’t charge extra for the Refrigerator and Microwave.

  • Liked — Checking out.
  • Disliked — Everyting else.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

We stayed here during a visit to OU. From the outside, it was not particular attractive, could use some exterior work. Inside it was nicer. We didn't see the free cookies anywhere during our visit, although the popcorn machine was in use. The desk clerk was very friendly, but when we asked for a room on the top floor, we were not accomodated. The hotel was not crowded, yet it seemed they bunched all of us in one hallway. I assume that is for ease in cleaning, but we heard door after door slamming starting at 5 am!! The breakfast is indeed for two only, but it was a huge amount of food and we paid for our extra person. Also, they make it quite clear that tip is not included with the free breakfast, so in all, it cost us an extra $10 for breakfast. The room was in great condition, but it smelled too flowery, like they had used some kind of rug freshener or something. The beds were VERY comfortable and we were given an ample supply of comfy pillows. Our room faced the freeway, but we didn't hear the noise. The TV, while indeed a flat screen, was actually not very large at all! The DVD player was nice and we checked out a movie from the front desk to watch. Bathroom was very clean and rounded shower curtain rod was nice. Water was really soft!
We have stayed at two other Norman hotels over the years and this was about the average.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

Unless you are a big Oklahoma Sooner fan, there is nothing special about this place. Rooms are ok and beds are fine.

My big issue was the "nickel and diming" mentally of the establishment. We booked via the website and it cleary stated "Complimentary breakfast". However once we arrived, it was a limit of two per room and $6.95 per additional person. Paying $6.95 for breakfast is not a big deal in itself but I thought their website was misleading. Then they would not stand behind what was on the website. Using the excuse no one evers books via the website. I wonder what would have happen if the online room rate would have been different? Nothing irritates me more than being nickeled and dimed.

I travel a great deal but this is the first time I have experienced a limit on "Complimentary Breakfast". They also charge $10 per extra day for the using the refrigerator or microwave. That two was a first for me. By the time you add of their extra little fees, you could have stayed a nicer location.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Business mentality
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

This was our fourth stop in Norman to find a hotel to stay in for a couple of nights. What a treasure it turned out to be. The rooms were very clean and, while the building itself was older, up-to-date. TV with DVD player. Shower roomy enough for my husband even though in a small space. Very comfortable bed, bedding and pillows, which I'm very picky about. The staff was great. The attached restaurant was good, plus we got a 10% off coupon for dinner and free FULL breakfast buffet.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

If you're a OU Sooner fan then this is the place to stay. Pictures and memorabilia dating back to 1892 of different OU sports line the hallways.
Not sure about the regular rooms but each suite named after a OU legend. We had the Bud Wilkenson suite.
Whole hotel is done in crimson and cream with flat screen tv's, dvd players, pillowtop beds with goose down pillows.
Great place to stay when in the OKC area.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — Gift shop could have been bigger
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

this is a great place to stay in norman, OK. each room is decorated with memoribilia from a different university of oklahoma "sooner legend". the rooms all have flat screen TVs and wonderful beds! much better than staying in a chain hotel!

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sooner Legends Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooner Legends Inn & Suites

Address: 1200 24th Avenue SW, Norman, OK 73072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sooner Legends Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service sports-themed boutique-style 136 room hotel in Norman OK. Opened in March, 2006, hotel is in close proximity to University of Oklahoma. Rooms are equipped with pillow-top mattresses, goose down comforters and pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, DVD players, in-room coffee service, Turkish bath robes and granite bathrooms. Award winning restaurant, gift shop and sports-bar on premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sooner Legends Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooner Legends Hotel Norman
Sooner Legends Inn And Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sooner Legends Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.