We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   960 Ed Noble Pkwy, Norman, OK 73072   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 24 hotels in Norman
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean & Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We booked the jacuzzi suite for a quite in town getaway. It was spacious and clean. We (thankfully) didn't see a single cricket or ant during our visit. The pool was open until midnight, which was wonderful and children weren't allowed past 11, which was even more wonderful. The pool and hot tub were well maintained and very clean. There are plenty of chairs and tables for those that want to relax poolside. The hot and fresh chocolate chip cookies were a nice treat after our dip and soak.

The in room jacuzzi in a bit confined. It was very clean. I recommend putting up a safety bar to make it easier to climb in and out. The bed and chairs were very comfortable. It's nice the room had a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. There is also hot, fresh coffee in the lobby. We didn't like having to visit the first floor to get ice. As with most hotels, the vending machine prices were high. Sodas were $2, so if you drink it, bring you own.

The breakfast room was clean. The breakfast bar had a number of selections from oatmeal to Frosted Flakes as well as hot food such as scrambled eggs, sausages, and waffles. The coffee was quite good. We opted for an early breakfast so we could enjoy a swim, hot tub, and in room jacuzzi before the noon check out. Everyone else opted for an early breakfast as well. Even though the room is large with a lot of seating, it can't accommodate everyone. I'd stay there again on another in town getaway. However, if upon our return visit we're greeted with crickets and ants like former visitors, it will be our last time staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normancis, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the compliments regarding the cleanliness of your room and that you really enjoyed your stay here at the Country Inn & Suites, Norman! We have a great staff who are proud of this hotel and are glad that you will be staying with us again next time you are in Norman!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    14
    2
    8
See reviews for
37
18
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Since the 1st and 2nd floors were full of crickets and grasshoppers, the ants stayed with us on the 3rd floor. We woke up with ants in our beds. When I went searching for the ice machine on the 3rd floor, I ran into the housekeeper, with my ice bucket in hand, and asked her if this floor has an ice machine. Her response was "No Engli". When we were leaving the hotel, I did not see anyone at the front desk to discuss the issue with the ants. Iwaited for someone to appear, but heard the front desk person talking about personal issues in the room off from the front desk. There were several keys lying on the counter which would tell me the front desk person has not been at the desk for quite some time...this was Sunday morning at 10a when folks are checking out. When I complained to their corporate offices, the assistant to the general manager called me and offered a 25 percent discount in hopes that we would give them another chance. I told her I will never return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normancis, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about the concerns you had regarding your stay. I'm sorry that your experiece here wasn't what you expected. I have addressed your comments with the management staff and have taken appropriate measures to make sure they do not happen again.

Durng the time you were here, all of Norman, Moore and parts of southern Oklahoma City experienced a large number of crickets that were trying to escape the record heat. As a result we were one of quite a few hotels that had a lot of crickets seeking air conditioning as well as an escape from the birds that followed them into town. Our exterminators made several service calls to the hotel during that time.

Again, please accept my apologies. Please call me directly next time you are planning a trip to Norman so I can have the opportunity to make it up to you.

Thank you.

David Lamb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Country Inn and Suites in Norman, Ok. We were there for our daughter's volleyball camp at O.U. The location is a short drive (abt. 20 min.) to the University but it was also a great location for shopping (near the Sooner Mall) and very close to lots of places to eat. This property was well maintained with a workout room, spa, pool, ice machine and breakfast all on the first floor. Fresh baked cookies in the lobby in the evening with several varieties. The breakfast had options such as fresh fruit (sliced), juices, coffee, muffins and other breads, oatmeal, yogurt, cereals, milk, eggs, bacon or sausage, pastries, waffles, etc. This hotel is a 3 story with inside corridors, well maintained, and newspapers in lobby. The housekeeping staff on our floor didn't speak English at all so we couldn't ask basic questions and she didn't vacuum. She cleaned the bathroom but did minimal cleaning to the room including not emptying a very full waste basket in the room. We sat the trashcan in the hall and called the front desk. They got the hint and emptied it. The staff in the lobby was friendly and answered our questions about the area. We felt safe in this area even at night. The pool was open late at night which was nice for us. The beds were comfortable. We had free internet as well and our cell phone service was excellent too but then again we were on the third floor. The bathroom was large which was nice with teenage girls. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you love to walk with, eat with, and sleep with crickets and grasshoppers then this is the place for you. I never stayed a hotel with so many crickets inside the looby, eating area, and all down the corridoors. They were just walking around the looby floor, huge as hell. Even the one's people step on just laying dead all over. Then the front desk decided to give me a room with no working air conditioning system. So I complained and of course crickets were in the room(first floor) . So we changed floors & rooms and to my suprise 1 of my reservation was changed without my permission. I previously reserved 2 dble bed rooms 1 king suite. They decided to give me 2 king suite and 1 dble bed room. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND HOW THIS HOTEL IS RANKED IN THE TOP TEN OF NORMAN OK. and here is the kicker I was accomendated with a 5% discount and 10,000 gold member points. YOU CAN KEEP IT. COUNTRY INN & CRICKET CITY WON'T EVER SEE ME AGAIN.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late, no problem with check-in. The room was cool, clean, quiet and super comfy bed!!! Great location near OU and stores.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Clean basic hotel. Not as good as other Country Inn & Suites we have been in, but still ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had a reservation for a two queen room, for nearly a month. When I arrived, the two queen room was not available and they tried to put me in a king room, which was not acceptable. No explanation other than the reservation had been changed internally. I had to find different accommodations, at a higher rate. I will not give them a second chance. There are plenty of other options nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. Like you, I am certainly disappointed that we were not able to have your requested room type available when you arrived. Unfortunately a group in house stayed past their scheduled departure date and subsequently the room type you reserved was not available. This is a rare occasion but unfortunately it happened the day of your arrival and I understand your frustration. I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team that this unfortunate situation occurred.

If you are planning another trip to or through Norman, please contact me directly so that I could have the opportunity to earn your business back.

Once again please do accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman

Address: 960 Ed Noble Pkwy, Norman, OK 73072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the modern décor, the convenient location and the thoughtful service offered at the Country Inn & Suites Norman, you'll wonder why traveling isn't always this easy. Close to Oklahoma City and Oklahoma University, this hotel features upgraded Suites and spacious Standard Rooms in Norman, OK. While staying with us, you’ll also appreciate excellent amenities, including a heated, indoor pool, a Fitness Center and a complimentary, hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Norman
Country Inn And Suites
Country Inn Norman
Norman Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.