We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive Collection left to a university!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art

Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art
410 West Boyd St.., Norman, OK
405-325-3272
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 Attractions in Norman
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Davis, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Impressive Collection left to a university!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

You simply must stop gawking at the incredibly weird outside sculptures and go inside. You won't believe the quality of the exhibits! I was at OU for a summer workshop and walked in one afternoon 30 minutes before they closed. I was blown away and rearranged my plans to go back and give this place the time it deserved!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

House one of the largest Impressionest Exhibits outside a major museum. The University is lucky to be the beneficiary of such works of art!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
753 reviews 753 reviews
364 attraction reviews
Reviews in 270 cities Reviews in 270 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“Art gallery sure to please the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I'm not much for modern art. Thankfully, this museum has a little bit of everything. I saw Picasso drawings, Van Goghs, interactive visual exhibits, a reproduction of the donors house. Really everything is there.
Must visit is the museum shop, such cool stuff!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Must-See in Norman”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The museum has a very nice collection -- a highlight is the Weitzenhoffer rooms where the family's Impressionist paintings are displayed as they were in their home. Parking at OU is always a challenge -- the only negative thing I can say about the museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Visit to See Disney Cells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Its a bit hard to find the main entrance to the museum on a slow day but its well worth while. Great value.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.