We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar

Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar
229 East Main St., Norman, OK 73069
405-701-3748
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 261 Restaurants in Norman
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Blanchard, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Yesterday my husband and I ate at Das Boot Camp for the first time. It was around 3 pm so only two tables were occupied. We lived in Germany and found the food to be wonderful, the service attentive and the atmosphere pleasant. I had the Weiner Schnitzel, which was perfectly cooked, crispy outside, tender inside and not at all greasy. My husband had the rotisserie chicken, which was very flavorful, crispy skin and juicy inside. The German potato salad was delicious! As were the hot pretzels! Yummy! We had the Oktoberfest beer which was also very good. If you're looking for reasonably priced, delicious German food in a friendly environment, try Das Boot Camp. Our waiter was very friendly, making suggestions on the food, desserts and beer. My only complaint? Which isn't really a complaint, more a dissapointment ... The menu is somewhat limited. But because the food we had was wonderful, we'll be back to try other things on the menu ... Again & again. If you want some great German food, give Das Boot Camp a try.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sntlnd, General Manager at Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi lmead10769, Thanks for visiting Das Boot Camp for the first time and taking the time to write such a nice review! I'm very pleased that you and your husband enjoyed everything so much. If you would like to try a much more extensive Bavarian menu, you might want to visit us at our restaurant on Sooner Road in Moore, Royal Bavaria which is under the same ownership. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon at Das Boot Camp and give Royal Bavaria a try as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norman
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“pot roast with beer gravy was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

had the pot roast with beer gravy and it was absolutely heavenly. nice atmosphere. will definitely be back. nice change from all other restaurants that have the same stuff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sntlnd, General Manager at Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi jarjarbinksnorman, Thanks for you review of Das Boot. Glad you enjoyed the pork roast so much and like the rest of the menu. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent German food for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent German food is sometimes an oxymoron, but DAS Boot Camp pulls of authentic german cooking in a nice, clean restaurant. A bit noisy for our 65+ year old crowd with USA rock and roll, but ignore that and the big screen tV sets and concentrate on their food. Last night I had their Hungarian Goulash, lots of paprika and lots of meat, very tasty, plus their warm, slightly tart German potato salad. Excellent service by their staff. The only problem was they were out of all Oktoberfest beers by the 20th of October. They use their own brewery, and don't have Warsteiner or other bottled German beers, so I settled for a pils - ok but it was October after all. Their warm big pretzel is large enough for 4 to share and is freshly baked.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sntlnd, General Manager at Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Dave S, Thanks for your great review. I'm happy to hear how much you enjoyed our food. Sorry about being out of Oktoberfest. We always try to have all of our beers on tap but the new batch of Oktoberfest was about a week from being ready when you visited. Come see us again, it's back on tap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A German Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The atmosphere is more "Alpine" than German, very stark. The food is a very pleasant surprise, sausage, strudel, sides and golden beer are excellent. I do not know of any other restaurants like this in the area, but this one meets my needs very adequately.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sntlnd, General Manager at Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi JohnSh_13, Thanks for your recent review. We really appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
“Good and Authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having been to Germany many times, the food found here really is authentic. I had the Nurenberger wurst, boyfriend had the Winerschnitzel. It really was amazing tasting. Good prices, good experience. Will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sntlnd, General Manager at Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for the nice review Sawyer H. I very pleased that you enjoyed everything so much. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Boot Camp Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.