We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Norman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Norman to your Saves list
Super 8 Norman
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 West Main St, Norman, OK 73069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Sallisaw, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wasn't bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I saw where many reviews rated this badly......I found it to be not all that bad. No, I didn't expect the Hilton, nor the Holiday Inn; we needed a bed to drop our heads. The staff were helpful and yes the breakfast was very decent (waffles, cereals, juice, sweet rolls, etc)....no wait person but who needs one. Pool and hot tub were just great. About all I can complain about is the maids could have spent a little extra time vacuuming the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    47
    24
    11
See reviews for
75
24
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

First off don't believe what you see- the pictures the hotel has posted must have been taken in 1970 when the place was built. Yes the pool is that big and there is a large hot tub- but that's the best thing I can say about the whole place. The hot tub was very dirty and the area the pool and hot tub were in was very dark, very little lighting. Towels were scarce. The rooms were typical size for the type of hotel but filthy. Our room had blood splatter on the ceiling and a wall, and the floor in the bathroom was begging for some tilex and a scrubbing. We were in a group that had 4 rooms and the other 3 rooms also posed cleanliness issues. Stairwells to get into the hotel and to the rooms were old and dimly lit. We were concerned with our cars as all over the parking area there were signs urging you to make sure you lock up and don't leave valuables and the hotel isn't responsible for break ins. And finally the breakfast area looks nothing like the picture- it was very ran down and the food wasn't refilled. Table were wobbily and chairs were broken. The older lady running the breakfast was very rude and unhelpful to say the least. She made deragatory comments towards some of the groups member's weight and how they shouldn't be eating as much as they were and was rushing us out after only being in there for about 15 minutes. Way too many hotels in the area to ever need to stay here again!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

At the least the air would be fresher and the other park dwellers more friendlier. The manager needs a serious course in hospitality. Watch our for your credit card make sure all receipts are properly accounted for.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

I've stayed in worse, but more often better hotel/motels. Just a few points of potential interest to anybody considering staying here.

First off, the room had an unusual smell to it -- a somewhat pungent chemical based scent with an underlying drift of mustiness. Not too unusual for motels, but not he most pleasant of things. Aside from that, it was suitably clean. The bed was comfortable enough, amenities including a mini-fridge and microwave worked well. One thing that I found rather irritating was the fact I had to ask the front desk for full sized towels. Drying off with a hand towel doesn't do such a great job. The state of the actual room itself was passable. Some broken tile, towel rack in the bathroom looked like somebody tried to break it in half, visible wiring attempted to be covered by carpet in a few corners (no problem with hiding wires under carpet, but they didn't do a good job of it). I never tried the free breakfast or pool facilities, but the free high speed internet provided was fairly quick and issue free.

Overall...If you don't feel like spending a whole lot of money on a place to stay, this motel is an 'okay' choice. Just don't expect too much from it. And be sure to get your towels before you hop into the shower.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sulphur
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

We stayed here and the room smelled. It had an odor that hit you when you walk through the door. The swimming pool was nasty. It needed a good cleaning. The breakfast was a joke, they had some fruit, donuts with icing that was melted off, and make your own waffles. The waffles was the only thing that was decent.

  • Liked — Not one thing
  • Disliked — Rooms had odor
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

The motel room was average, but clean. (Lots of things colored green, an 80's theme, if that matters). When I booked the room, I asked if early check-in was possible, and the staff said that I could check-in early. When I arrived, the staff said they had no record that my room was an early check-in, so i had to tool-around town for a few hours...(Partially my fault, I should've written down the employee's name, upon booking the room). I stayed in an outside-entry room.

  • Liked — Close to the Interstate
  • Disliked — The bad communication skills of the front desk staff
  • Tips/Secrets — There are several other hotels nearby (within a few blocks), that are more modern, and might be worth checking out.
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

I booked two rooms through the hotel at an amazing price. Well the week-end was full of vistors and they decided to make more money and cancelled my reservation on site and sold the rooms at a higher rate. I had confirmation numbers and had given a credit card to hold the rooms. When I arrived they blamed coporate for the mix up yet corporate's computers show they made the decision on site. I was then called a liar and told to shutup by management and offered my rooms two rooms at a much higher price. They rooms were nasty, the staff rude and unfriendly, breakfast was a joke, and they didn't even change the sheets! DO NOT TRUST THEM!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Norman

Address: 2600 West Main St, Norman, OK 73069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Norman 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norman Super Eight
Norman Super 8
Super Eight Norman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Norman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.