We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average property with great service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Norman Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Norman Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Norman Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 N Interstate Dr, Norman, OK 73072   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Norman
Augusta, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average property with great service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Overall a decent stay in what seemed like an older property. The air conditioner went out in our room and since it was game day, there were almost no more rooms available in Norman. Luckily, someone checked out early in another room and the front clerk went out of her way to personally clean and prep the room so that we could move and be comfortable. The manager gave us a free night as well as breakfast. I was very pleased at the way the situation was handled. The second room we had was much nicer than the first. Probably remodeled. However, it was a smoking room. Windows needed to be cleaned for better view of the city. The pool was not usable. Would I stay there again? 50/50 on that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    28
    25
    8
See reviews for
40
16
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Check in was fine, but on entering the room we found several dead crickets on the floor of the room. We killed several more live ones during a 2 night stay. Chewing gum was stuck on the window sill. There were stains on one of our bedspreads that looked like blood. We didn't get a replacement until 10 pm the second night of our stay. The refridgerator was unplugged, so we had to climb behind the armoire to plug it in, and of course it took a while to get cold. The clock was unplugged. The hairdryer was missing from the bathroom. We soon discovered that there was no hot water in the entire hotel, which wasn't remedied until about 3 pm the next day. There was a fire alarm the second evening, which required us to stand outside for half an hour (I know this wasn't their fault, but it added to the overall bad weekend). One of the two elevators was broken, and the hotel was full, which made for long long waits for the single elevator. The front desk was nice and did their best, but the housekeeping service was very slow to respond. The lobby/dining area seemed fine, the pool was satisfactory, and the breakfast was good with decent service. But this couldn't make up for the many problems we encountered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Norman Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Laurika2000,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel is typical for an IHG property, old building with popcorn ceilings and new paint trying to hide it. Floor had a yellow stain on it five feet long which disappeared when the sun went down and the lamp came on.. pretty nasty! I called the desk to let them know so I didn't get blamed for it and the guy told me not to worry about it... easy for him to say. My biggest gripe is that I was not offered a room upgrade and no bottle of water or candy was given to me at check in like everywhere else I stay.

On the bright side the location is great and it is next to 5 great restaraunts you can walk to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Norman Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Aatwatch1,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club member and for leaving us a feedback. We're glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel. I deeply apologize that the condition of our facilities and the services you received fell below your expectations. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn last weekend because my husband's family is from Norman so we try to take our kids up there once a month or so. The hotel was great- super easy to get too and they allow pets which is always a plus. My daughters had a great time swimming and thought it was the neatest thing that they could swim even when it was raining (they have an indoor pool). The breakfast variety was better than I expected- my husband went a head and paid the extra $10 a night to have a breakfast included each morning and it was worth it for a full buffet. When traveling with 2 small kids it is hard to find a place that is centrally located where we won't have to do a bunch of "get in and get out" of the car; so it was nice to stay at the Holiday Inn because they are next door to 3 or 4 places to eat so we walked both nights. Over all it was a great weekend and for the price we paid I will totally be coming back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the price with breakfast added to your room rate- it is worth the extra $10
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I scored this hotel on Priceline for $42. I was a bit concerned by the mixed reviews, but our experience was good. Check in was quick and friendly. The AC was not working properly in the first room, but we were then given a second room that was fine. Our room was quite clean. The furniture and decor were nice. Nice large flat screen TV. No problems.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Let me start out by saying that we always stay at Holiday Inn when we travel which is a lot. We've never stayed at this one and never will again. We stayed on the 3rd floor which has a terrible smell and they have numerous fans sitting on the floor and blowing. When we walked up to our room their were 2 dirty glasses sitting there on the floor. Hair was in and around the tub on the floor. A weird grey streak on one of the fitted sheets. The carpets could use a deep clean. After having my shoes off for 5 minutes my feet were sticky. Big red stain on the carpet between the beds. This morning I was going to call the front desk to see if breakfast is complimentary and the phone doesn't work. I used my cell to call down to front desk and asked for a manager. Brent or Bennett told me there is no manager on duty on Sundays. I went ahead and told him how filthy the room was when we checked in and how the phone being broke was the last straw and I thought they should know. His reply was ' if you want a discount you need to call back tomorrow and speak to Brittny.' I said 'no I wasn't asking for a discount I just wanted you to know that housekeeping needs to step it up around here and there are 2 dirty glasses sitting outside my door that were there on check in. And everytime we've stayed at holiday inn breakfast is complimentary.' and he says 'well you must have stayed in holiday inn express they have free breakfast, this is just a regular holiday inn. I can't do anything until the managers come back.' this place is filthy don't stay here, we definitely won't be back to this particular holiday inn if we need stay in Norman again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Norman Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Hislilwifey,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for your staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our front desk. In addition, I am sorry your room was not cleaned when you arrived, this will certainly be forwarded to the Housekeeping Department. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The staff are very friendly and polite and the pool is fantastic. Our room was not the cleanest and smelled a bit musty but served its purpose for a one night stay. There are lots of places to eat within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Norman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Norman Hotel

Address: 1000 N Interstate Dr, Norman, OK 73072
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Norman Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! The Norman Hotel is located on Interstate 35 at the Robinson Street exit, just minutes from the University of Oklahoma, (Home of the Oklahoma Sooners)! We are geared towards the business traveler, considering so many corporations being in this area. The New Riverwind Casino and Goldsby Casino are just 3 miles away. All our rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, desks with data ports, free wireless Internet, coffee makers, 50+ channels, HBO, Nintendo, and video check-out from your TV. A complimentary USA Today newspaper is delivered daily to all rooms Mon-Fri. During your stay, you may want to take advantage of some of the benefits of a full service hotel. Our amenities include Free Hot Breakfast, sports lounge, convenient self service business center, as well as a Get Fit! exercise facility, newly renovated indoor pool and hot tub that are always a hit with the kids! In addition we have 7,000 square feet of meeting space to accommodate any size meeting. From small meetings in our Executive Boardroom to large meetings and banquet events in our Emerald Ballroom, we are the meeting place in Norman, Oklahoma.Book your next weekend getaway, business trip, or business meeting at The Norman Hotel-Norman, where we will make it your home away from home. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Norman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Norman Hotel Norman
Norman Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Norman Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.