We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value ~” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Days Hotel to your Saves list
Happy Days Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Certificate of Excellence
allen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value ~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This is a fun place to stay. Usually you can find the owner in a cowboy hat at breakfast, very clean rooms, and professional friendly staffs. Make sure you ask the staff what kind of day they are having; they usually say anything but a happy day! Only kidding . . . Also Angles restaurant [1950s] Great Milk Shakes! . . . Thanks Pep!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
20
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed at Happy Days Hotel with a large group of car crazy people.
The rooms are clean, the decorating is unique! It was a lot of fun. The rooms
were clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our two nights there and have
reservations for next year.
J.F. Oklahoma City, OK

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

The pink neon and cute restaurant first caught our attention. The 50s & 60s decor with the real records hang on the walls and memorabilia of Elvis, James Dean, Marilyn Monroe, and others was charming. We had great warm welcome from the staff even with a late arrival. We had an equally warm chat with
the owner the next morning. Our room was a little smallish, but attractively decorated and comfortable. Rates were the best we found for this caliber of hotel in the area. We would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I checked in with my mother and two young children to find the room with used coffee grains in the coffee pot and stain on the pillow, to follow by pulling the blankets down to find a sheet full of PUBIC HAIR. then get changed to another room after reloading the car with louge and kids to be the room next door (fun not) . To find more HAIR on the pillows and sheets. I then asked for my money back and was refused so they finally found a room when I went to complain in the morning the girl Tabetha laughed with another young girl thinking my experince having to pack up my car 3 times with 2 small children was funny. I asked to be credited with a food voucher since they give drink vouchers why not a breakfast one for my inconvince. They refused to accomandate me in any way I T WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTLE IF YOU WANT TO HAVE CLEANINESS. Horrible experince..........

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stillwater, ok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2008

The "Happy Days Hotel" in McAlester, OK was a lucky find for my husband and I. We were traveling to southeast Oklahoma for a veteran's day ceremony. We stopped in McAlester to stay the night. The Happy Days Hotel was a fun adventure as soon as we stepped through the door. The decor is all 50's and 60' s themed. We stayed in the "I Love Lucy" room....we loved it. There is plenty of memorabilia to see and Elvis is alive and well at the "Happy Days Hotel". Angel's Diner is also on the premise and has the "best" food on the road. The room prices are very reasonable, this hotel is the cleanest I have personally ever experienced. The staff and owners are wonderful. This is well worth checking out. My husband and I will be making another trip down memory lane to the "Happy Days Hotel".

  • Liked — The classic 50's and 60's themes of the rooms
  • Disliked — N/a everything was amazing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Me and two other wild and crazy women stayed at the Happy Days for 2 nights while taking in the Talahina Scenic Drive and sights of Mena AR. We really enjoyed the fun decor and the continental breakfast was great. The food at Angels Diner was very good as well. We arrived late on a Friday night, Scott was on duty, a very very helpful and pleasant young man. I would recommend your hotel to family and friends looking to stay in McAlester

  • Liked — Helpful staff
  • Disliked — Wish more of selection on Continental Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We stayed one night at the Happy Days Hotel after reading good press in various places (including this site). The place was okay, but seemed to come up a bit short of expectations from the press. At the end of the day, it seemed much like the budget Microtel it used to be, but with a 50s decor. Here are the pluses and minuses:

+ Decor. The 50s theme is cool.
+ Price. The AAA rate was very good.
+ Amenities. No complaints about these for the price. The wifi worked well. The showerhead was top notch.
+ Quiet. Minimal noise from outside.
+ Clean. Aside from the smelly shower curtain.

- Uncomfortable bed. Seemed squishy in the middle, leaving a person to roll towards the middle. Not restful.
- Smelly shower curtain. The shower curtain smelled strongly of mildew, and made the whole room smell when we arrived. It improved when we closed the bathroom door and turned on the fan (we were too tired upon arrival to request another room).

While I don't have any big problems with this place, a comfortable bed is really important to me. I'd probably give the Holiday Inn Express a try on my next stay in McAlester.

  • Liked — Decor
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Happy Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Days Hotel

Address: 1400 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Happy Days Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Happy Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Days Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.