We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Days makes for a Happy Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Days Hotel

Save Saved
You added Happy Days Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Happy Days Hotel
1400 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy Days makes for a Happy Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel's decor, both in the rooms and in the common areas, invokes the USA during the 50s and early 60s; lots of Elvis, Marilyn Monroe, James Dean, Lucy, etc. It's all nicely done, and a fun experience if you lived through that time or have an interest in that period. Our room and the property overall were very clean and well-maintained.
Our bedroom (single full-size bed) and bathroom were perfectly fine for us, but some might find them a bit small. The room contained a small fridge and a microwave.
Angel's Diner is just across the parking lot in front of the property, making it very convenient. It serves good basic food for a reasonable price, and it's theme fits nicely with that of the hotel.
Overall, the Happy Days Hotel provided exactly what we were looking for; a good place to stay for a good price, the very definition of value.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the main building would probably be quieter if you're a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your thoughts and opinions

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
15
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I frequently stay in McAlester, OK, on the way to Texas. Unhappy with the quality of our accommodations, and especially the restaurants nearby, we decided to try the Happy Days motel. We were quite pleased! Not only was the room about $20 cheaper than the better known chains, but it was exceptionally clean, with very comfortable beds. The amenities are somewhat more modest; you'll need to bring your own shampoo and body lotions. The included breakfast features mainly cereal and waffles--no eggs or sausage. All that was fine with us; we'll trade shampoo for clean carpets anytime! As for skipping the "free" breakfast, we were happy to pay for ours at Angel's Diner, located right in front. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the diner, and found both meals to be quite good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We greatly appreciate the opinions of our guest and love to hear what interested them.

We are glad you you a nice stay & look forward to seeing you on your next trip through McAlester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here for business on several occasions. I travel often and must say , this is one of the cleanest hotels I've stayed in. The decor is adorable and the staff is so accommodating ! I would recommend happy days for anyone traveling through. Thumbs up!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate them greatly and are so glad you enjoy your visits with us. Each guest becomes like family.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through McAlester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were to be returning customers for the third year, but they lost our reservation due to computer crash! However they were able to call my personal cell phone to discuss our reservations 3 or 4 days prior to our arrival. I had made the reservation June 17th 2013, for June 20 & 21 nights, 2014, received conformation numbers for each room. (2). (confirmed 3 -5 times during the following year, always being told reservations were good, no problems, do not worry) Trust me, we were staying there for their location, not the quality. The Elvis room was small, poor air-conditioning, and had 2-3 photos of Elvis, with a couple of old records on the wall. We had reserved The 2 bedroom executive suite for the kitchenette for our Children and their children etc. The walking location to the Great Balls Of Fire (also owned by unhappy days people) entertainment center was also big in decision to stay there. Since I was able to get other rooms, they felt no obligation to us and owners refused to speak with me even though they had to be contacted for answers to every Question I Had!! While in town we did go to game place, and I spoke with some members of a motorcycle riding club who filled Happy Days. They said they had made reservations a few months ago, and were also advised a "Glitch" caused a few of their reservations were lost, but somehow happy days was able to find rooms for the entire club to stay there.
Happy Days , I do not think so!! Their attitude; Oh well, we had a full house in the end with a happy large group, so we were absolutely unimportant to them!! You are on your own, money and them come first!! BEWARE!! The place itself Makes it almost to high priced average at best

Room Tip: The kids activities come at a pricey game place behind hotel. Newer building to the front has the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
As before, I apologize for your inconvenience due to not having your reservations because of computer crash. We were able to move the Storm Riders here from the other hotel due to cancellations. You had stated you did not want to deal with us any more, so I did not contact you to be moved to our hotel, which I could have done...and in the rooms you requested.

Once again, sorry for the inconvenience, hope you had a good weekend with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Place is Very clean, Friendly and Helpful Staff! The Building is very cool, with the Happy Days Mottif on all the walls, and the Lobby area! Swimming Pool Area is nice and clean! Pets are very welcome here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We love to hear from our guests. We're glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on the next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have passed this hotel quite a few times on our way to and from Texas. We finally decided to stay on our way home and were not disappointed. Very clean. We had a room with two queen beds, so there wasn't much spare room, but we just stopped to sleep so it was fine. The pool looked refreshing and there is a nice patio area with a fountain. Breakfast was nothing special but still nice to have. Very nice lobby to eat in. We had our dog with us and it was nice that they didn't have restrictions on size of dog.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We appreciate your comments and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We all love pets, so it's a welcome distraction to see the 4 legged members of your family as well.

Thanks again. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I work in McAlester, yet live a good 100 miles from there round trip and often stop in at the Happy Days hotel when working late, during stormy weather, and just for a summer nights dip in the pool. I have over the span of four years stayed at the Happy Days hotel at least 100 times and it is my PREFERRED destination in McAlester! The staff is warm and inviting, the rooms take clean to a whole new meaning, and even though I am a younger guy and the motif predates me by a generation or two I just love the nostalgia of each room not to mention the convenience of both Angel's Diner and the Great Balls of Fire Family Fun Center. YOU should stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks, Chris for this great review. We enjoy your visits and are privileged to have you in our "home.

We look forward to seeing you real soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Days Hotel

Address: 1400 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Days Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.