We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in the 50s” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Days Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Days Hotel to your Saves list
Happy Days Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lost in the 50s”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff at Happy Days were very friendly and welcoming during our stay over Labor Day weekend. The room was clean and the a/c worked great, which was needed with the 100+degree heat. We will certainly stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
19
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It was a nice change of pace to stay at the Happy Days. We were skeptical when we were first researching it but then read the reviews and decided to give it a try. The staff members were extremely friendly, and the rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. The decor was entertainment in itself and we thoroughly enjoyed our “I Love Lucy” theme room, even to the effect of taking pictures! If you have a sense of adventure and don’t mind breaking away from the everyday humdrum hotels then you will really enjoy this place. It’s unforgettable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here on a recent trip to Texas. Room was small, but nice and clean. Staff was very friendly.Had a good selection on the breakfast bar in the AM.

Only thing we did not like was we were quite close to the outdoor pool and there was a lot of noise late at night. I think management could control this better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We found this Hotel on Booking.com. We were more than pleased with our room. We stayed in the Elvis room. It was decorated so neatly. The room and bathroom was immaculate. We have stayed in some very high end places and for the price they don't compare. This was very quaint and a very relaxed atmosphere. I wish more of us would support our Mom and Pop businesses. I am recommending this to everyone I know. It will take you back in time!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Me my sister were traveling to Missouri from Texas for a few days and spotted the hotel on our way through. We decided to make a reservation and stay the night on our way home-it was the highlight of our trip!!! The room was very clean and the staff was great! We loved the decor! Not only do they have AAA they also offer a military discount! We also ate at Angel's Diner-food, service, and decor were A+! I will definitely be back-it was AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Front Office Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Wow! That made our day to hear that we were the highlight of your trip!! We love to offer a unique, special experience to our guests, so glad that you and your sister enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groesbeck texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I will definitely stay here again! The staff was super friendly and kind and the room was clean and so cute! I was in the Marilyn Monroe room and It was decorated with all things Marilyn right down to the shower curtain. I Loved it! also it is about 2 minutes away from a lovely Casino and there is a family friendly gaming facility right behind it with bumper cars, bowling and laser tag.

Room Tip: I had a great room at the end of the hall and was not disturbed at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Front Office Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your "Marilyn" room! We try to give our customers a unique experience and its so gratifying when it is appreciated :) Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review...it is appreciated!! Renee-office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My daughter and I were passing through Oklahoma on the way from Austin, TX, to our home near Springfield, MO. We were tired and thought the place looked interesting. I called about rates. I was pleased to hear that with my AARP discount I would get a room for $60 per night. We checked in, and were pleased with the clean room, helpful and cheerful staff and the super pool area. All the rooms have a 'theme'. We were in the "Brando Room". We enjoyed the pool, which was sparkling, with not too much chlorine, and the patio area that had barbecue grills and a fountain. Afterwards, we went next door for my daughter to play the games at Great Balls of Fire. The beds were very comfy, and we had a fridge, and microwave. Towels and bed linens were good quality. I would say that this the THE PLACE to stay in McAlester based on my experience. Breakfast the next morning was continental style, but fresh. You won't go wrong if you stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happydays1144, Front Office Manager at Happy Days Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Amanda, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you so much for giving us such an awesome review!! Hope to see you again soon...Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Days Hotel

Address: 1400 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Happy Days Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Happy Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Days Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.