We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Days Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Happy Days Hotel to your Saves list
Happy Days Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Loved this place, Clean, welcoming and very nicely themed. Would recommend to anyone to stay there. Loved it

Room Tip: Only disadvantage would be there are stairs, so make sure you ask for aroom on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
20
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel is really more like a motel but it is such a good value for the money. The place is very very clean and the nicest people work there. When you walk in you feel like you are going back in time to the days of rock and roll, Elvis, James Dean etc. Even though the place is just about 5 or 6 years ols. Our two queen bedroom was a little tight on extra space but there was good storage. The beds had pillow tops and felt like sleeping in our own beds. There was a small refrigerator and microwave stacked by a counter. The bathroom counter was short but had some space for toiletries. The shower curtain had pictures of jukeboxes and dancers . Great towels that were thick and the shower was good too. We
received a discount on our dinner at Angel's Diner which sits out front of the hotel and is owned by the same people. It is decorated too and has the grill and counter seating as well as booths and tables. One more thing. The rooms were surprisingly quiet even though construction was going on for a new entertainment center that is supposed to open in a few
months. Especially when looking for an overnight stay, this is a must choose place.

Room Tip: There is not an elevator so that may need consideration when reserving a room. There is a small swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed 1 night, loved it. Similar to a Microtel, but has unique decor. Friendly staff. Good breakfast with waffles. Rooms clean with adequate space. James Dean was the theme in our room. Halls and stairways and lounge are all decorated in 50's memorabilia.Nice pool.
Fridge and microwave in room.Shower curtain had 100;s of pictures of 50's movie stars on it. Arrived too late Sunday (after 3 pm) to eat at the Angel Cafe. Would love to have tried the Whistle-Stop Fried Green Tomatoes. It was our first time in McAlester, but we had fun.Would love to come back with the grand-kids.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

This is a fun place to stay. Usually you can find the owner in a cowboy hat at breakfast, very clean rooms, and professional friendly staffs. Make sure you ask the staff what kind of day they are having; they usually say anything but a happy day! Only kidding . . . Also Angles restaurant [1950s] Great Milk Shakes! . . . Thanks Pep!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed at Happy Days Hotel with a large group of car crazy people.
The rooms are clean, the decorating is unique! It was a lot of fun. The rooms
were clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed our two nights there and have
reservations for next year.
J.F. Oklahoma City, OK

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

The pink neon and cute restaurant first caught our attention. The 50s & 60s decor with the real records hang on the walls and memorabilia of Elvis, James Dean, Marilyn Monroe, and others was charming. We had great warm welcome from the staff even with a late arrival. We had an equally warm chat with
the owner the next morning. Our room was a little smallish, but attractively decorated and comfortable. Rates were the best we found for this caliber of hotel in the area. We would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I checked in with my mother and two young children to find the room with used coffee grains in the coffee pot and stain on the pillow, to follow by pulling the blankets down to find a sheet full of PUBIC HAIR. then get changed to another room after reloading the car with louge and kids to be the room next door (fun not) . To find more HAIR on the pillows and sheets. I then asked for my money back and was refused so they finally found a room when I went to complain in the morning the girl Tabetha laughed with another young girl thinking my experince having to pack up my car 3 times with 2 small children was funny. I asked to be credited with a food voucher since they give drink vouchers why not a breakfast one for my inconvince. They refused to accomandate me in any way I T WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTLE IF YOU WANT TO HAVE CLEANINESS. Horrible experince..........

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Days Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Days Hotel

Address: 1400 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Happy Days Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Happy Days Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Days Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.