We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 Peaceable Road, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Traveling to McAlester on a business trip. The parking lot was very well lit. There was more than enough parking in the front. All the request that were asked for were granted. Checking in was very easy and the clerk was pleasant.
The room was clean and spacious and had a kitchenette that was nice and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
7
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean from the start and walking through the door. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and it was a painless check-in. I had the King sized bed room and it was much more than I expected it to be! There was a sofa.. mini fridge.. and a large flat screen TV, among everything else! The bed was more than comfortable, along with the pillows and that seems to be a hard find at hotels these days. Most importantly it was VERY CLEAN. After a well rested night, the breakfast was great too.. waffles, bagels, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, it was like a restaurant! I would more than recommend for you all to stay here! You will not regret it!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face the city, it is quite a pretty view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stopped on the way to Arkansas. This hotel is clean and comfortable. Our room was spacious with comfortable beds. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. I would say the breakfast was fine for a free breakfast

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for three weeks on January on business. This hotel is newer and has good amenities. Its location is wonderful. You are within walking distance of several restaurants, one of which has a small market, which is great because the "suite" shop in the hotel is a joke. It was never stocked and what it did have was lacking in organization. When I arrived and checked into the first of three rooms I would stay in, I was impressed with the size and lay out of the room. However, my room was missing a closet door (WHAT?!) and a handle off of the television armoire. The room was clean but not spotless and was short on outlets. The second room I stayed in still impressed with size and layout but I was again missing a handle off of the armoire (huh?). The third and final room I stayed in for the last leg of my trip was great. Nothing broken or missing. Still big and lovely looking. However, I was quickly surprised to find that above one of my bedside lamps on the wall someone had drawn, in pen, a small anatomically correct picture of male genitalia. I do not offend easily and lost no sleep over the incident but seriously?
The biggest let down of the trip though was the front desk staff. They were mostly young and entirely unhelpful. One front desk staff members would constantly disappear outside to smoke and talk on the cordless phone. You would just have to stand at the front desk until she came back in or, if you were like me, you would have to walk outside and grab her.
In short, this hotel was nice on the surface but at its heart was unimpressive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear MSarae,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

On our way to MO my father, my 3 kids (2-5yr olds and 1-6yr old), and I stayed here in passing. The hotel was nice and very clean. We had a room with 2 Queen beds, and it also had a sleeper sofa. The room and bathroom was a good size. The bed was very plush and comfortable. It had a microwave also. The breakfast was good, and the area downstairs was clean. I would stay here again. The location was also easy access to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the HI Express in McAlester during a moving trip from Houston to my home in Missouri. After al long day of driving the moving truck it was good to stop at a good hotel. I was greeted promptly and recognized as a platinum member and my room was upgraded for free. I usually get a king suite but ended up with a queen double. No worries though. All restaurants and Wal Mart were easy to get to. Just wish the hotel had a shuttle! Overall not a bad hotel. Breakfast was the usual HI Express fare and was good and filling. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, it also had a sleeper sofa ,microwave and mini fridge ,so rhe room was really large. It was clean but showing a little wear , like scuffs on the baseboards and walls. Breakfast was adequate with cheese omelets ,bacon ,boiled eggs ,yoghurt, toast ,cereals, juice, and make your own pancakes. I would recommend this hotel and not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester

Address: 1811 Peaceable Road, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Southeastern Oklahoma with the finest in overnight accommodations at the all new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in McAlester, Oklahoma. McAlester is home to the world's only Behind the Walls Prison Rodeo . Located just three miles away in Krebs is Oklahoma s own Little Italy which hosts the annual Italy Festival including the world famous Italian cuisine. McAlester offers something for everyone: antique shops, restaurants and bakeries in the downtown shopping district are there to browse through and enjoy. We are proud to be a host hotel, for Halliburton, McAlester Regional Health Center, Franklin Electric Company, Baker Hughes, US Army Ammunition Plant, BP Company and Schlumberger.While staying at the all new Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in McAlester guests will enjoy beautifully landscaped grounds offering an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi that overlooks our outdoor fireplace. We offer spacious suites with modern style furnishings and quality designer décor, multiple two line speaker telephones, free wireless and wired high speed Internet, located at an over sized desk with ergonomic chairs and 27 flat screen remote television. The friendly staff offers a variety of services including conference facilities with catering assistance, 24-hour business center, information, complimentary USA Today newspaper and the Express Start breakfast bar. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express McAlester! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Mcalester
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Mcalester
Mcalester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.