We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday-Inn Express yetE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1811 Peaceable Road, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Holiday-Inn Express yetE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I met some family members here just for a one-night stay. Upon check-in, we learned they were serving pizza and beer that evening. Free supper! We needed a handicapped room, and it was very accommodating, room to move the wheelchair, bars, etc. The room was huge! I had called the week before and made reservations, and good thing, too, because they were full! I thought it was a new motel, but talked to management and learned it was built a few years ago. It looked and smelled brand new. Breakfast in the morning was very good. We love the cinnamon rolls they always serve! We also swam before checking out, and the pool was equally as nice. I would definitely stay here again. Everything was great, from the staff to accommodations and everything else in-between!

Room Tip: Be sure to call and make reservations ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
5
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was here recently for work. This is one of the nicer Holiday Inn Expresses that I’ve been to. I usually stay at a different hotel chain but there were no rooms available the week I was visitng McAlester.

The staff was very friendly and they had cookies out each evening. The rooms were pretty clean and newer. The common areas are kept clean and well maintained. The breakfast was HIE standard. Its location is decent; there are some restaurants within walking distance.
I would say it would not be my first choice if I’m back in McAlester, but not because the hotel was bad, but because Priority Club is a dismal rewards club.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our relatives often stay at this hotel for family reunions. We arrived late Friday evening, and made the mistake of settling in for the night before using the facilities. I could see from the doorway that the flimsy temporary plastic toilet handle was broken; housekeeping should have reported it when they cleaned. I called and was told that they could move us to another room or have maintenance repair it in the morning. We also noticed there were no facial tissues and the AC wouldn't come on. These latter were remedied by the time we returned from the reunion. Late Saturday afternoon, maintenance had not been reached by phone, though he was on call, so I asked for a credit on our bill, but all they would do is offer to move us. Not wanting the burden placed on us, I asked to speak to the manager. She also refused to help other than moving us to another room with a working toilet handle. The lobby toilet had a sturdy porcelain handle. Several problems here, from housekeeping to maintenance to management. The pillows were tiny, the blanket covered half the bed. Our aunt's coffee maker was not cleaned out. My husband was ill the second night, after eating a cookie from the lobby. It wasn't dinner, because we split that, being stuffed from the reunion earlier in the day. We intend to write to the company and let all our family know to avoid this hotel. There are several other choices in the area, so we hope there is some competition. I would have expected a rural town to have excellent customer service!

Room Tip: Flush before unpacking! Do not expect any maintenance on the weekend. Be satisfied with the room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear Anne G,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your family reunion. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foss, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had been driving for hours and hours. This hotel was such a pleasant experience. The desk clerk was very kind and had everything I needed for an unexpected over-night stay. The bed was very comfortable. It was quiet. The breakfast was quick and very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

I come to McAlester on business a couple times a month and I always stay at this hotel. I'm usually there for a week at a time so I really enjoy the huge suites. They allow me to spread out and not feel as cramped as I have at other hotels.

Breakfast is always great and I love the new pancake machine! You just push a button and it makes you a fresh pancake!

Overall, a very clean hotel with a friendly staff. Five stars!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel is nice, and the staff are friendly. Held gatherings of 8-10 people in dining area for pizza/football parties on the weekends during my stay of three weeks. Large flatscreen in entertainment area, but have the bulky box style televisions in the rooms. Microwave and refrigerator in rooms are nice.
The hotel is surrounded by food and entertainment.
Complimentary breakfast is nice. The swimming/spa area are outdoors and is closed for the winter.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Nice hotel, nice staff but problems. After unpacking discovered the toilet didn't flush (broken flapper), remote didn't work, only two towels for three people. The girl at the front desk fixed what she could but I had to jerry rig the toilet with thread from a sewing kit.

Next morning the clerk was very apologetic and said the manager would be back in town that day and he would call me. He didn't. I stayed in McAlester on the way home but somewhere else. Will be passing through 7-20-11 but will be staying somewhere else. Lack of response caused your hotel three nights of revenue from me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Mcalester
Holiday Inn Mcalester
Mcalester Holiday Inn
Address: 1811 Peaceable Road, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beauty of Southeastern Oklahoma with the finest in overnight accommodations at the all new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in McAlester, Oklahoma. McAlester is home to the world's only Behind the Walls Prison Rodeo . Located just three miles away in Krebs is Oklahoma s own Little Italy which hosts the annual Italy Festival including the world famous Italian cuisine. McAlester offers something for everyone: antique shops, restaurants and bakeries in the downtown shopping district are there to browse through and enjoy. We are proud to be a host hotel, for Halliburton, McAlester Regional Health Center, Franklin Electric Company, Baker Hughes, US Army Ammunition Plant, BP Company and Schlumberger.While staying at the all new Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in McAlester guests will enjoy beautifully landscaped grounds offering an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi that overlooks our outdoor fireplace. We offer spacious suites with modern style furnishings and quality designer décor, multiple two line speaker telephones, free wireless and wired high speed Internet, located at an over sized desk with ergonomic chairs and 27 flat screen remote television. The friendly staff offers a variety of services including conference facilities with catering assistance, 24-hour business center, information, complimentary USA Today newspaper and the Express Start breakfast bar. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express McAlester! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McAlester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.