We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rib Crib

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rib Crib
421 S George Nigh Expy, McAlester, OK, McAlester, OK
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in McAlester
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Weatherford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“yummy but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

pricey food but good. the ribs were tender and tasty. the beans were ok-sweet not what I'm used to. potato salad was good and so was the cole slaw.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and service, better than Texas BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stopped by and had some of the best ribs and chicken anywhere. Here in Texas, BBQ is served cold and dried out, we have to suffer with the worst food and the biggest egos. What a great meal we had in McAlester, Oklahoma, they really know how to cook up there. The ribs and chicken were perfectly seasoned, tender and juicy, served steaming HOT. How refreshing to be served a hot meal in a BBQ restaurant after all the awful BBQ restaurants here in Texas. The service was excellent, the restaurant was clean and inviting, good prices.

Please Rib Crib, expand down into Texas, we need some decent BBQ here!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Rib Crib.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've eaten at many Rib Crib's over the past several years. This one is among the best. The building is clean and very open. It has plenty of natural light due to the windowed walls. My only complaint would be the parking. It's a little complicated and at times, packed, but there are plenty of parking spots located a very short distance away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Yes, you CAN get BBQ on a Sunday in Oklahoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Many a time we have driven thru McAlester but this was our first time to stop here. SO glad we did! We had been looking for a BBQ lunch stop since Muskogee, and all others were closed on Sunday. Not Rib Crib! I am really picky about ribs (hardly EVER try them...always find tough or chewy or fatty) but here we shared a half slab of dry rubbed spare ribs (about 8 ribs) and 2 sides (try the cowboy beans). These ribs were so flavorful and tender...I could gently scrape the meat right off the bones! Ate at the bar and our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ok they can BQ in OK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Almost Texas good, this place is great. Staff friendly and want you to have a good time. Had the all you can eat ribs with all you can eat sides. Also great sauces at the table. Don't miss this place if you are traveling Rib Crib make a great stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rib Crib also viewed

 

Been to The Rib Crib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rib Crib, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.