We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Choctaw Indian Gaming Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Choctaw Indian Gaming Center
1638 South George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
918-423-8161
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in McAlester
Attraction details
Haskell, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Save your money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Been to this casino 10 different times. This is the lowest paying casino that I have ever been to. Well below the national and state average for Indian casinos. I feel sorry for people that play here. There are higher paying casino within 60 miles. Will not stop again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    6
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McAlester, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“If you play more than a dollar per game drive on past”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have visited a lot of casinos, both Indian and not. Even several different casinos belonging to the Choctaws. Believe it or not I have even been in the gaming machine business. If you play small bets this casino is fine. But if you like to bet five dollars per bet or more per game you will find the games here do not even began to pay the same percentage. The odds and fairness of the game should have the same return to the player. (Somewhere between 90 and 95%) I can assure you that is not the case at this casino. While the lower bets seem to run around 80% the higher bets are more along the 40% return. Sure there are some payouts but I have played on several occasions and after suspecting this to be the case decided to observe the play of others in
general. If you like to bet small the play is not too bad, but the management or machine suppliers seem to fear a payout when a larger bet is made and the games are manufactured so that the odds can be easily controlled. The NIGC has so few inspectors that they couldn't catch a Indian casino or machine supplier in Oklahoma doing this if they wanted to. It is a shame. Over the long haul a 95% machine will give them a very good earning and will let them make 5% of every dollar every time it is played. That is still very good for the tribe considering very few people know when to quit.

Unless you just want to play in an unfair game drive somewhere else unless you bet less than a dollar per game.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Never win here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Ot having much luck with Choctaw this trip. They took my allotted amount in the blink of an eye! I never get to play much here or win any money.!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“smokey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

thought we had a little time to kill and would go gambling. forgot it was a smoking establishment!!!! could only stay in the area about 15 minutes before we had to leave. most casinos have ventilation systems for smoke but this one did not...way too smokey. will not go back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. joseph, mo
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Modern looking casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Didn't have some games other ok casinos had, but still had plenty. I liked that they had video poker at the bar in the bar w $1 beers. $10 for first time sign up. The "part too" of their casino was a dive, but I don't think they meant for it to be anything other than a place to lose money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choctaw Indian Gaming Center also viewed

McAlester, OK

Been to Choctaw Indian Gaming Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Choctaw Indian Gaming Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.