We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm staff, spacious room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   731 S. George Nigh Expwy, McAlester, OK 74501 (Formerly Midway Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Warm staff, spacious room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

It was right on our route. The bath area was tiny but the room itself was spacious. Good breakfast. Internet access seemed a mite slow. Only real downside was the room's heat pump/air conditioner. The fan ran continuously, so all night it was blasting either hot air or cool air. The unit needs a deflector to force that air upwards so you're not laying right in its path.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Howard,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback. I will share your comments with our team. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester Ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on my way to visit family in Dallas,Tx. The hotel staff is
wonderful. Very friendly and helpful and eager to please. Our king­size non­smoking room was
clean and very comfortable. It was great to have the mini­refrigerator, microwave and coffee
maker in the room. We are not TV people, but the TV was adequate enough to watch the
basketball game. The hotel was very quiet. The continental plus breakfast was very good and you could make your own waffle. The wi­fi was fast in the room. I would stay here again next.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Kerry,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for giving us positive feedback for the accommodation we provided during your stay. Please know that your comments inspire us even more to stay focus in our goal to offer comfortable stay and great experience every time you visit us.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester Ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creston, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

CLEAN updated room. Friendly service. Close to everything. Very impressed! And what a great price!!! With breakfast! Can't beat it. Just passing through but nice to be able to relax! Can't express enough what a deal it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Patricia,

Thank you very much for your appreciation of our effort to offer you comfortable accommodation and best value services at Econo Lodge in Mcalester OK. Please know that your positive feedback brings us inspiration to stay committed in our goal to provide you and all of our guests great experience every time you stay with us.
We value your business!

Sincerely,
Jennifer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester Ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I only paid 40 dollars for this through priceline, but it was just fine for a couple of nights. Jennifer, at the front desk, was very friendly and efficient. The hotel is old, but everything was in good shape. The a/c worked fine, but the internet wasn't always well connected. That might have been a problem with my computer though because my friend's ipad didn't have problems. I don't like outside doors, but McAlester seems like a safe place. There's a Walmart and lots of eating places just down the road from the hotel. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. There's a waffle maker and biscuits and gravy and a wide array of cereal and pastries for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to have serviced your lodging needs in our hotel. Thank you for finding our hotel of best value. We assure you that we will maintain the accommodation you enjoyed during your stay in Econo Lodge.

Your satisfaction completes our business. We truly appreciate your choice to stay in our hotel. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester Ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I will start out that I had stayed a few other econo lodges in the past with bad results.
So I cringed when I made the reservation for this property, but the aarp rate was $44.10 for the night for us.
Raj the front desk manager is a very helpfull and nice guy. It turned out when I made my reservation somehow it had reserved two rooms for me . My fault for not checking it out after I printed it. He was very nice about leeting me know about my double booking and deleting the extra room for me.
The room was on first floor with exterior coridors so look out you don't let any crawling or flying critters in.
The walls were painted nice colors and the room had a microwave and refrigerator also.
And yes I walked the red stripped carpet and my white socks did not turn black. I always get a kick out of hotel reviews when people rant their white socks got black walking on the room carpets. For an economy hotel they had a very nice breakfast. Make your own waffles, biscuts and gravy, muffins and tastey danish. Would stay there again if in the area. Thanks again to Raj for the good service.

Room Tip: All rooms face hwy 69 so bring ear plugs like I did and you won't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester OK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are traveling for 5 weeks through the US. Most of the time we stay in a hotel from the Choice group.
Since we had a very good stay at an Econo lodge in Grenada we thought we could book again an Econo Lodge.
However this was the worst hotel we ever stayed over the past years. The most important issue we have is that we found, before we went to bed, dead cockroaches in the corner of room. The next morning, coming out of the bathroom I stepped almost on a living one. Disgusting. When we checked out we reported this to the gentleman at the reception. He seemed not impressed and didn't apologized or anything else.
Furthermore the hotel looks also from the outside very shabby. This hotel should not belong to the Choice Group at all.
Frederike
The Netherlands

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Frederike,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Jeniffer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester OK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel. It was clean. It was worth the low rate of $55 we
paid for it. Check the alarm clock, ours went off at 5:15

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for giving us positive feedback for the accommodation we provided during your stay. Please know that your comments inspire us even more to stay focus in our goal to offer comfortable stay and great experience every time you visit us.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester Ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 731 S. George Nigh Expwy, McAlester, OK 74501 (Formerly Midway Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.