We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   731 S. George Nigh Expwy, McAlester, OK 74501 (Formerly Midway Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are traveling for 5 weeks through the US. Most of the time we stay in a hotel from the Choice group.
Since we had a very good stay at an Econo lodge in Grenada we thought we could book again an Econo Lodge.
However this was the worst hotel we ever stayed over the past years. The most important issue we have is that we found, before we went to bed, dead cockroaches in the corner of room. The next morning, coming out of the bathroom I stepped almost on a living one. Disgusting. When we checked out we reported this to the gentleman at the reception. He seemed not impressed and didn't apologized or anything else.
Furthermore the hotel looks also from the outside very shabby. This hotel should not belong to the Choice Group at all.
Frederike
The Netherlands

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Frederike,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Jeniffer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester OK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel. It was clean. It was worth the low rate of $55 we
paid for it. Check the alarm clock, ours went off at 5:15

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you very much for giving us positive feedback for the accommodation we provided during your stay. Please know that your comments inspire us even more to stay focus in our goal to offer comfortable stay and great experience every time you visit us.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester Ok.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Beds/pillows/sheets/ were nice/comfortable.

Hotel is located at intersection of main road and highway 69, close to everything. I stayed almost two weeks and i felt home. Complimentary wireless Internet connection was excellent at the hotel. I enjoyed the Breakfast between 6am to 9am daily.

Great service, very friendly staff, very clean rooms and great beds. Would stay here again. It is an excellent hotel. Will recommend to all my friends and business partners.

Room Tip: I was at the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for making Econo Lodge in Mcalester your choice of hotel. We are glad to have provided you accommodation sufficing your needs. Your very generous review is an added motivation for our team to stay committed in our goal to offer our guests affordable, quality services at all times.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, McAlester OK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Econolodge still considers this to be one of their properties -- maybe it's undergoing a de-flagging. (It should.) How a family-owned property could have been (apparently) run this poorly is a mystery.

We stopped here on our way north for an inexpensive place to stay, and based off of recommendations from other non-TA sites. The hotel "appears" to have been renovated from the outside... basically a fresh coat of paint, or the analogy "lipstick on a pig" comes to mind. The Econo Lodge website had apparently double-booked our reservation without a second confirmation; fortunately, the young desk agent pointed this out to us at check in and offered to cancel the additional reservation with no penalty.

Once we had been in the room for some time, we noticed a recurring smell which, upon further examination, apparently originates from the carpet and baseboards, which, to our dismay, apparently have not been cleaned in what may be decades. The upholstered chairs are equally filthy & possessing suspicious "liquid stains". We sprayed air freshener, with made the room somewhat tolerable, and as we were too exhausted to move, we decided to tough it out for the night.

The continental breakfast consisted of all starch and sugar-based items. Although the biscuits and gravy appeared to be a nice touch, they were not very appetizing. The waffle batter was left uncovered for what seemed to be hours. The area itself was not attended/staffed, relying on the one morning desk clerk to handle any issues or restocking. (visited the breakfast area twice, and it was clear that no re-stocking had taken place.)

A lat check out promised at check in was later repealed by the morning clerk, who blamed the night clerk for "making an error", saying that it was a mistake to have offered the late checkout to us. In over 30 years of travel, this is the first time we've ever had a conversation like this with a desk clerk,

Of further note: The advertising of a microwave and fridge in the room was a deciding factor in booking here. However, while the fridge was nice, functional and good-sized, the microwave did not work. The 30-or-40-year-old coffee maker was actually kind of interesting, and functional. The bathroom is literally so small that one must step into the tub to close the door! The beds are soft and squishy; if you like a hard mattress, wrap yourself in your favorite protective covering and perhaps crash on the filthy carpeted floor...?

All in all, this is a poorly situated property that seems to be run on a shoestring budget that does not allow for carpet shampooing, training of housekeepers, or apparent hospitality education.

Room Tip: Keep driving until you find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raj P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
The guest checked in at the Econolodge, around 8pm on October 3, 2011. There were 2 reservation made online by the GUEST ,but at the check in time the night clerk removed one reservation with no penalty. Econo Lodge website does not book double reservation unless you have acknowledge and the guarantee policy twice yourself.

After the guest checked in the room, an hour later and also when the guest came to front desk for a bottle opener, night clerk had ask him “Is everything ok and comfortable in the room.” Guest replied, everything is excellent in the room, and guest asked for a late check-out for 4pm. Night desk clerk told the guest; “Please check with morning clerk for the late check-out availability.”

Next morning on the way out from the breakfast room, guest received an extension till 1 PM. At this time guest’s attitude shifted from being great to not so happy at all because he couldn’t stay till 4 PM. (By the way if rooms were so filty and uncomfortable why the guest wants to stay long as possible.)

Following day General Manager, called the Guest and apologized once again. GM explained and was sorry that they couldn’t grant him the check-out till 4 PM, DUE TO NEXT ARRVING GUEST for that day and giving housekeeping enough time to have the ROOM READY FOR THE NEW ARRIVAL. General Manager offered the guest one free complementary stay or a refund for his stay. Guest decided to get the refund. GM refunded the stay on guest credit card the very same day and send out a confirmation email.

We like to take full care of our guest from check-in to check-out. Housekeeping staff works hard to keep each room very clean. All the rooms are renovated last year with new carpet, new paint, new tile work, new fridge. All the rooms have working microwave, hairdryer, and coffeemaker.

Our continental breakfast consist of: Fresh baked waffle and (our waffle batter cup always have lid on them), Biscuits and Gravy, Fruits, Four types of Danish, Muffins, Bagels, Cinnamon Rolls, Bread, Croissant, Four types of Cereals, Milk, Coffee, Apple and Orange Juice.

We appreciate everyone’s business and look forward to serving you in future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 731 S. George Nigh Expwy, McAlester, OK 74501 (Formerly Midway Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.