We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patron Mexican Grill

Patron Mexican Grill
1415 South George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501-7406
(918) 426-4833 ‎
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 68 restaurants in McAlester
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Hampton Inn recommended this Mexican restaurant to us, and we are glad they did. The margaritas are excellent, and they have a wide variety of them, a stable of mojitos, and many other libations. The menu is also wide ranging, with all the usual suspects and then some. For example, there are salmon tacos, camarones rancheros (grilled shrimp with red chile sauce, grilled tomatoes, and bell pepper), and a "light dinner" section. My wide had the tortilla soup, and they were happy to hold the cheese. It was light, with chicken broth and chunks, and ample avocado slices. We also enjoyed a side of pickled jalapenos. I ordered the chicken fajitas (with four shrimp added for $4), and they were wonderful, served with excellent grilled peppers, tomatoes, and onions, sides of beans, rice, pico de gallo, sour cream and guacamole, as well as tasty homemade tortillas. My wife shared a bit with me, and we still didn't finish a single order. Service was good, but not hovering, and prices were very reasonable. Now I can recommend Patron as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    10
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Food/Good Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We went to Patron on a whim and found that the food is pretty good. We were dissapointed that you have to buy cheese with the set up. Chicken burrito was good. Chips are great. Salsa is from canned tomatoes. Dining room was clean and smelled good. We would eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quality and service has gone down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Went on a Saturday late afternoon/early evening. The server we had was friendly, but seemed overworked and rarely came around to check on us. Our chips and salsa were never replenished. We were not asked about our meals after they came. After being there about an hour and a half, we had to go stand at the front and wait for someone who could get our bill for us.

The alcoholic drinks we ordered were not prepared the way we asked, or even properly, and were very weak. Very, very expensive drinks. Between 3 of us we had 5 drinks total, and the drink bill was $40.

The food was very slow to come. When it did arrive, the food was very tasty, but portions were small. Prices for the food were about average. Total food bill for 3 people was about $28.

This is the third time in a row we've been disappointed with some aspect of the dining experience. I don't imagine we'll return again any time soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What happened to this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Was the best Mexican restaraunt in McAlester , new management came in , restaurant is nothing like it was , Lost food quality and service. Even smells inside

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really good food. I had taco chicken plate which was excellent and other family members had some type of Mexican sampler plate and they loved it. Victor was great!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patron Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Patron Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patron Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.