We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Tree Inn to your Saves list
Oak Tree Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 E. South Avenue, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Brandon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was so happy that this was a good stay - the room was clean, and there was no hassle with anything. It was tucked away behind Lowes, so if you are looking for a discreet stay, this fits the bill. It was close to major highways, and I am not sure about the other areas, but how far could they be in this small town?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OTI, General Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Sysdsnana,

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We try very hard to give the best possible service and quality hotel experience we can each and every stay.

Best Regards,

Kendra
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wister, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

After spending a lot of money on hotels for the past two weeks. I have stayed in different hotels while my family member was in the hospital.

My budget Needed to be tightened, so I went ahead and start looking at different hotels.

The hotel was very new and clean. They don't charge and don't provide breakfast. But when I saved $40 on my room. Was exciting.
Bed was comfortable
Will stay again

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at Oak Tree Inn in McAlester. Our stay was extended due to car troubles - not what any of us want on a trip. However, what could have been a miserable experience was made bearable by a most amazing, accommodating manager and staff. We had already checked out when we realized our car would not start. When AAA couldn't get it running, we realized we were going to be in McAlester longer than planned. We were immediately checked back in - our same room - provided additional coffee - and received breakfast vouchers for the next morning (note - Oak Tree does not provide breakfast on the premises, however a breakfast voucher is provided for the Denny's at the intersection).

Day 2 at Oak Tree involved calling AAA again for a tow to the only import place in town, then trying to find a rental car at one of two places in town. As check-out time approached, we gathered our things and put them in our stranded car while we hoped for a call back to confirm we could get a rental car. When we tried to check out, Oak Tree wouldn't even take our key cards! Said they'd extend our stay as long as necessary until we found a car. Then, offered us a ride to the rental location!

Another note: Beyond the parking lot at Oak Tree is a wooded hillside with creek running past. On a beautiful sunny cool morning, we saw several deer, grazing, and drinking from the stream. We saw a crane "fishing".

Oak Tree Inn is a basic hotel, reasonable priced, with coffee, microwave, and fridge in the rooms, and free wi-fi. The rooms are spotless and well furnished. The location is well hidden behind Lowe's on highway 69 - walking distance to restaurants and other shopping. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riesel, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Althought Oak Tree Caters to the Rail Road, That was the DARKEST room I've ever been in. In broad daylight it was Midnight in my room. Very quiet & peaceful. I was there to give some training for my Company. They accomadated my needs for a classroom as well. So if you need to sleep during the day. This is the place to go. It's close to EVERYTHING too. You are literally within 2 miles of anything you may need, and yet back away from all the noise and traffic that goes with it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Must be a brand new place! Everything was comfy and spotless. I love the bed, and we had a good night's sleep. Probably the best kept secret on this strip of highway in Oklahoma! Yes it is located behind a Lowe's and we found out about it from one of the free travel coupon brochures you pickup at rest areas, Free coffeemaker, micro and frig. There is a free breakfast for both of us at Denny's which was a nice little plus, but would definitely stay here again on my next trip through Oklahoma.

Room Tip: New place, nice rooms, look for it behind the Lowes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexia, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel is hidden behind Lowe's, and I can't remember now how we happened upon it. We stopped at three other hotels first. One lobby smelled of pinesol so I turned around and left there fast; the next one didn't have a laundry room; the next one had no vacancy. So I'm getting discouraged and tired when we found this place.

Thankfully, they had a room available with all the amenities I usually look for - coffeepot, hairdryer, fridge and microwave. The building was brand new and clean and smelled good (as in no smell at all). I needed a laundry room so I was given a room on the 4th floor right across the hall from it.

The service was great. The desk clerk was friendly and seemed to be on top of things. We needed extra coffee and she was very accommodating and generous. (Also, she knew how to pronounce Mexia, always worth an extra bonus point :) Free breakfast at Denny's was included in the room rate, which was lower than I expected for a brand new hotel.

The only negative I can even think of is the same one at every hotel - no smoking rooms, which makes it hard for the husband to have the most comfortable stay anywhere; can't put your pajamas on and be comfortable when you have to go outside several times. Of course, there was an elevator, but we took the stairs anyway. This is the only reason I would never be able to give 5 stars to anyone who didn't have smoking rooms, just our particular situation; nothing to do with the quality of this hotel.

It was very quiet the night we were there; I think it is mostly out-of-town workers who stay there. This was a great find and I'm glad we stumbled onto it. Will definitely stay there again if I'm ever back in McAlester.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: 2200 E. South Avenue, McAlester, OK 74501
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Tree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.