We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1137 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in McAlester
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had not stayed at La Quinta before, and were very impressed with the quality and cleanliness. The night clerk was helpful in suggesting a place to eat that was just a block away. We had a little trouble with the television remote but did not report it immediately. We were able to use the tv controls to get to the channels. When we mentioned it at checkout, the manager was aware of the problem and said the problem was being fixed throughout the hotel.

Can not report on breakfast as we missed it Overall our experience was excellent and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    13
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
63
20
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We travel quite often with our pets and finding a decent hotel that will accept them can sometimes pose challenge. Many times the "pet friendly" hotels are fine for the pets but leave a lot to be desired for the owners. This was our second stay in a La Quinta in the past six months. This hotel was fairly new so you would expect that the acommodations would be nice, which they were. The continental breakfast was more than adequate, the price was reasonable and the staff, was very helpful. Shelli, the desk clerk placed us in a suite on the first floor near the outside exit which helped facilitate the handling of our pets. She also recommended a restaurant and was generally helpful and pleasant. She is definitely an asset to La Quinta Inns. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with pets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at McAlester La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Initially put off by the entrance - overflowing trash bins, bottles strewn about and cigarette butts everywhere. If we hadn't had a reservation we would have driven way. Many people waiting to use the only luggge cart. We were pleased to find the room very clean and comfortable..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience. Your satisfaction and continued trust in La Quinta Inn and Suites are our top priorities. We look forward to showing you that we are working hard to make sure each visit meets your expectations and our high standards.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We got caught in a snow storm and were able to get a room at LaQuinta Inn in McAlester, where we were greeted by a friendly receptionist and she immediately got us a room. We asked about food close by and since it was Christmas night she said most restaurants were closed. She offered to make us barbecued sandwiches and allowed us to partake in the fruit, yogurt etc. from the breakfast buffet. We feel they really went out of there way to accommodates guests who were stranded in a snow storm. Brian Cox, General Manager said he'd help us get out of the driveway if we couldn't make it up the hill, everything was very slippery. We were able to get out without help, but it was nice he offered to help.

Thank You

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We were very happy to be able to shelter so many from the winter weather, conditions were pretty terrible but we made it through. I'm very happy to see you arrived at your destination safely. Happy new year from our family to yours .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel was roomy and confortabe amd a great price. The staff was friendly and helpful. That morning while on our way, the manager call to notify me the room had been double booked and asked if i would like to upgrade at no additional cost. Thats a first that i was called prior to instead of not knowing untill i showed up. It was a great stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
As always the hotel buisness can get hectic and very crowded, we are greatful for your patience and positivity while we were overbooked. The holidays can be a stressful time but with guests as patient and kind as you and your family were, makes these days a whole lot better. From our family to yours Happy New Year and please be safe over the holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester

Address: 1137 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester Hotel is in a bustling area that boasts an eclectic mix of big city conveniences and small-town charm. We offer an ideal location close to the Army Ammunition Plant, Halliburton, Boeing, Krebs Heritage Museum, Choctaw Casino, Arrowhead State Park, as well as an array of great attractions just a couple of miles away. Enjoy an abundance of outdoor adventures at breathtaking McAlester and Eufau...see morela lakes. Do some antique shopping in the Old Town Antique District. Explore the many museums, like the J.J. McAlester Mansion and Oklahoma State Penitentiary Museum. Peruse the historic downtown area. For those who want to roll the dice, Choctaw Casino is just a mile away. Are you planning a meeting, wedding, family reunion, or little league game? As a guest of the La Quinta Inn & Suites of McAlester, you'll be impressed by our friendly team members' passion for what they do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites McAlester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.