We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean and nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Mcalester to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Safe, clean and nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Disappointed that they did not offer breakfast. However if you knew ahead of time they do have a stove, full refrigerator etc. in each room so you could make your own or bring stuff to heat in the microwave. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
16
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had to book a room at the last moment and was very pleased that we were able to get a room. The lady at the front desk was very helpful and courteous. Our room was clean and comfortable with plenty of room. It had a full size refrigerator, a microwave, dishwasher and a three burner range with all the essential to cook and eat. We didn't know it had all of this but we will use next time we stay there.The room rate was very reasonable for this kind of room and we will definitely stay there the next time we are in McAlester. They didn't have a breakfast but had fruit, cookies and plenty of drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I luckily stayed here in McAlester because it was half way between Waco TX and Branson where we were heading. I call it a Gem because it was sparkling clean everywhere, spacious room and friendly downhome service. The gal at the front desk even asked us if we'd like some fresh baked cookies right out of the oven. She brought them up to our room when they where done. Everything was excellent including the outside grounds, staff, room & service. We are from South Dakota but will definitely travel a little out of our way to stay here again if at all possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had to go to McAlester from Missouri for a funeral and didn't have a place to leave our 5 month old puppy. I have never had to travel with a pet before and didn't know what to expect of a pet friendly establishment. I expected a room that smelled like a pet. The front desk was very friendly. Our room was clean and had a refrigerator, stove, sink, utensils, and a dishwasher. It was also close to several restaurants. The only bummer was that the lobby was out of regular coffee and only had decaf.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here one night while passing through town. Front desk was very polite and helpful. The check in went fast.

Our room was clean and spacious.

This is all I really need while staying one night and passing through. Thanks for the good night sleep!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Maybe we got lucky with the timing of our stay, but this hotel was very quiet. Our room was exceptionally large, with a full-sized fridge and ice-maker, along with a kitchenette. I was really not expecting this, I guess maybe I didn't read the description when I booked, but I was thrilled with the value for the price. We were just passing through, but if we were to return, I'd stay here again. The rooms were very clean, the staff was friendly, and it looked like there were lots of places to eat in the area. The only ding I would mention is that the bed was a little too soft for my own liking.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay for a few days, check and see if you can get a room with a kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I looked at the great reviews for this hotel and booked. There were several options in this town, so I thought I was choosing one of the best. Location was fine, and it was clean. However, the air conditioner in our room buzzed loudly every time it started up, so we has to turn it off for the night. Also the sheets were so pilled that they felt like sandpaper around the foot and leg area. Also - just to mention - this hotel does NOT provide breakfast. You can purchase food at their snack closet, but only fruit and coffee is available free. For the same price we could have had breakfast included at a different HI express, LaQ, etc., just down the street a few hundred feet. I should have looked more closely to know that was not included. Here's your warning!

Room Tip: Room 302 was at the end of the hall and back of the hotel. Good location. Bad air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Mcalester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Address: 425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Mcalester 2*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites McAlester is the only extended stay, all suites hotel in McAlester, Oklahoma. The 89 suite, 4 story hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 69. If McAlester is your destination, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and attractions. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium Direct TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat screen television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24-hours a day. McAlester, OK has many attractions just minutes away. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the McAlester area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mcalester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Mcalester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.