We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Mcalester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Pros:
Complementary bag of popcorn upon check-in

Complementary fresh coffee throughout the day - great selection of sugars & creamers

Well stocked pantry and reasonable prices.

Complementary cookies throughout the day - My daughter and I went down daily to snag some. One day the front desk even called to let us know they were just set out and were still warm!

Nice decor

Very comfy beds

Spacious rooms & bathrooms

Everything was very clean. Everyday housekeeping did purpose-full cleaning in the lobby -from spritzing the plants with water to vacuuming and moping. I got the impression that when they cleaned it wasn't just a mindless job they did for pay. I feel like they cleaned because they take pride in their hotel.

Front desk clerks were very friendly and housekeepers were just sweet as could be

While we were staying there, they had a Halloween party & costume contest for staff families & hotel guests. There was a ton of food and many children and adults came in costume. In general there is a sense of family amongst the hotel workers. Also, they had many of the public areas decked out with Halloween decorations.

The rooms were set up with comfort in mind. Something as small as the alarm clock made the room feel like they thought out how to make it comfortable. For example, the subtle alarm clock display was easy on the eyes - not the harsh red numbers that glare across the room.

Plenty of wall outlets

Nice furniture. One desk clerk told me that the reclining chairs are custom made.

They welcome pets. They require a deposit of $40 for the entire stay. That is a really great price! They also give you a magnet for your door to let people know to be mindful of your pet if they enter your room.

Nice bathtub. Really great shower head. The shower curtain bows out, making more room when taking a shower.

Very quiet. We did not hear a peep through the walls and we did not hear anything from the hallway (people or doors shutting) a single time.

Within walking distance to restaurants, liquor store, and Walmart

The only cons to the hotel are the dolly ramps are not in front of the main entrance.They are on either side of it a couple of parking spaces away and they are a bit on the narrow side. There is no awning over the main entrance either.

I would absolutely recommend the Candlewood hotel in McAlester.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    16
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
13
5
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wister, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pro: The room is very clean and spacious. The kitchenette allows for long-term stay. Very impressed with the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. Price was right for the quality

Cons: bed very uncomfortable. The bed and the bed covers needs to be thrown away and new bed linen should be replaced


Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic MO
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I made a last minute reservation here, based on TA. I walked into a sparse lobby and was a little concerned. The hallway to my room looked very basic and a little worn. But when I opened the door to my room - let's just say that I was very pleasantly surprised. Nice, clean room with a kitchen area. Great workout area. Only downside is no breakfast. But for the price, this is a great place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here while visiting my father who was in the hospital. This was our first time to stay here. It is really a great choice for us.
First what it has: good beds, plenty of room, a full sized refrigerator and cooktop.
What is doesn't have: daily cleaning (easy swap of towels and linens as needed). Weekly cleaning. Breakfast....plenty of options around.

And best, it was about $45 per night cheaper than their competitors.

Dog friendly as well.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When traveling to smaller communities, it can often be challenging to find nice accommodations where options are limited. I was pleasantly surprised that Candlewood Suites has consistently provided me with spacious, clean and modern facilities which meet my expectations. I have always stayed here when returning to town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice room with good location. Good price. Full kitchen was nice. One thing to be aware of: The kitchen contains a full size refrigerator with an ice maker inside the freezer. The ice falling into the empty bin during the night woke me up a few times. If you are a light sleeper you may want to lift up the little bar in the icemaker in order to turn off the production of ice during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Friendly staff, fairly new facility. Easily accessible to the highway and dining options . The rooms were very clean and my bed slept great! Great sheets! I didn't want to get out of bed. Business Center computer was having issues so I couldn't do what I needed to do, but overall this is a great place esp. if you're on a budget. As an IHG Rewards member, this was my first stay at a Candlewood and they won me over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Mcalester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Address: 425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Mcalester 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites McAlester is the only extended stay, all suites hotel in McAlester, Oklahoma. The 89 suite, 4 story hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 69. If McAlester is your destination, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and attractions. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium Direct TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat screen television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24-hours a day. McAlester, OK has many attractions just minutes away. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the McAlester area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mcalester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Mcalester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.