We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Mcalester to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Republic MO
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I made a last minute reservation here, based on TA. I walked into a sparse lobby and was a little concerned. The hallway to my room looked very basic and a little worn. But when I opened the door to my room - let's just say that I was very pleasantly surprised. Nice, clean room with a kitchen area. Great workout area. Only downside is no breakfast. But for the price, this is a great place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
16
6
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here while visiting my father who was in the hospital. This was our first time to stay here. It is really a great choice for us.
First what it has: good beds, plenty of room, a full sized refrigerator and cooktop.
What is doesn't have: daily cleaning (easy swap of towels and linens as needed). Weekly cleaning. Breakfast....plenty of options around.

And best, it was about $45 per night cheaper than their competitors.

Dog friendly as well.
We will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When traveling to smaller communities, it can often be challenging to find nice accommodations where options are limited. I was pleasantly surprised that Candlewood Suites has consistently provided me with spacious, clean and modern facilities which meet my expectations. I have always stayed here when returning to town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice room with good location. Good price. Full kitchen was nice. One thing to be aware of: The kitchen contains a full size refrigerator with an ice maker inside the freezer. The ice falling into the empty bin during the night woke me up a few times. If you are a light sleeper you may want to lift up the little bar in the icemaker in order to turn off the production of ice during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Friendly staff, fairly new facility. Easily accessible to the highway and dining options . The rooms were very clean and my bed slept great! Great sheets! I didn't want to get out of bed. Business Center computer was having issues so I couldn't do what I needed to do, but overall this is a great place esp. if you're on a budget. As an IHG Rewards member, this was my first stay at a Candlewood and they won me over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place because of great staff and bed was wonderful. Shower, excellent! They also provided a discount at a local restaurant "rib crib" for our convenience. I rented 3 rooms AND ALL WHO TRAVELED WITH ME ENJOYED THE STAY.

Room Tip: King suite for single is a fine choice of privacy and comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Lower price with FULL-SIZE fridge and mini-kitchen! Brand new, quiet, great beds, super clean. Why pay for a smelly/chlorine swimming pool & spa (which we find is often out of order or indoors w/loud noise, hot, & humid) that you don't use anyway? Same goes for the BIG caloric breakfast . . . There's not one, just free fresh fruit & coffee 24/7, plus an in-house grocery with good selection of food, snacks & drinks at reasonable prices. Staff we encountered had great sense of pride, were well-trained, customer oriented, and genuinely seemed to care-- which is expected at pricier resorts, but not usually found at this price point. The only drawback we found (and we are picky, picky, picky) is that the rooms are not equipped with a folding luggage stand. For the price, we can live without it. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Mcalester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Address: 425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Mcalester 2*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites McAlester is the only extended stay, all suites hotel in McAlester, Oklahoma. The 89 suite, 4 story hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 69. If McAlester is your destination, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and attractions. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium Direct TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat screen television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24-hours a day. McAlester, OK has many attractions just minutes away. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the McAlester area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mcalester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Mcalester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.