We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Mcalester to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clive, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place and great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is the first time we've stayed at a Candlewood. Typically we stay at Holiday Inn Express or Hampton Inns. We will be back! The hotel staff was wonderful and the rooms exceeded our expectations. This is a newer property and very well-maintaned. It was clear that they were proud of the facility and took great care of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    17
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
18
6
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Afton, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I travel for business throughout the state of Oklahoma, so I stay in hotels a lot. I was scheduled to be in the McAlester over the course of a three week period -- varying from 2-3 days each week. I stayed at the Candlewood Suites on each of these visits and thoroughly enjoyed it. The front desk staff was always there with a warm welcome -- and even knew my name after the 2nd day, the cleaning crew was extremely polite, and each person I ran into asked if they could be of any assistance. WOW! What a pleasant change! My room was clean and comfortable, and I could not hear my "next door neighbor" through the walls. Kudos to a fantastic hotel and staff! The Candlewood Suites will definitely be where I stay in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Love the hotel!! Quiet, rooms are great and offer the perfect combination of a room to get some rest in and get some work done. Changed hotel from Comfort Suites (bed was hard as a rock and rooms didn't have much to offer). After driving around, Candlewood Suites had the most to offer and it did not dissappoint. The staff was great making sure my needs were met. Love the little store in the lobby with everything imaginable you might need. Great stay, will pass on the info to all co-workers who need to visit Mcalester.

-Luis C.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilley Tx
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This motel is located in a good spot. Its only walking distance from fast food resteraunts. The service they have is Excellent. The pepole thier are always willing to help you with your needs.
I would stay thier any time i would be in the Mcalester area.I would recommand the motel to anybody.I also enjoy haveing my own little kitchen where i could save me and my crew some money.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda E, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and staying with us here at Candlewood Suites, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilley, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Candlewood motel is the best one ever. I will not go to another motel if its not candlewood,thats how good it is. Whatever the ocasion is stop by one of the best motel there is. This hotel was right up there with the best4stars. All the rooms have kitchen and an accessible bathrooms.I really enjoiy the full size Fridge,dishwasher,and the cooking stove.

Room Tip: Any room is great.At this motel.You name it you got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda E, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, were so glad that you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your stay here with the Candlewood Staff. Hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels over the last 7 weeks. I have stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Conway Arkansas, the Candlewood Suites in Bossier City Louisiana, and now at the Candlewood Suites in McAlester Oklahoma. I really enjoy the full kitchens in the rooms. Full size Fridge, full size dishwasher, and cooking stoves. I really like being able to come back to my room after a full day in the field, and being able to fix whatever i want for dinner, without having to go out for it. All the employees so far have been very helpful with any thing I need. They also have a little store by the lobby with all types of foods, and if you happen to forget things you need on your trip, it is also availble in the stores.

Room Tip: No traffic on the backside rooms at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda E, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We work really hard here at Candlewood Suites of McAlester and we value our guest that stay here! Thank you again and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This Candlewood was the best I have ever been in. Without a doubt this hotel was right up there with the best. 4 stars is not adequat. In many cases this hotel would have been a 5 star.
I just cant put into words how great this Candlewood is. This should be a role model for Candlewood suites

Thanks

Kerry and Marsha Beshears

Room Tip: Rooms near the exit doors on the side of the building makes loading and unloading a piece of cake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda E, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Mcalester, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We appreciate your business as a guest here at the hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Mcalester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Address: 425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Mcalester 2*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites McAlester is the only extended stay, all suites hotel in McAlester, Oklahoma. The 89 suite, 4 story hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 69. If McAlester is your destination, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and attractions. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium Direct TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat screen television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24-hours a day. McAlester, OK has many attractions just minutes away. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the McAlester area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mcalester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Mcalester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.