We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Mcalester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Mcalester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Holly Pond
1 review
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have been staying at the Candlewood Suites for several weeks in a row now as I travel to McAlester on business. The staff is ALWAYS friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel recently had the carpets cleaned in the rooms and now it is even more refreshing to walk into the rooms. Even the parking lot and grounds are well kept and well lit. I plan to continue staying at the Candlewood in the upcoming months during my trips and I recommend it to my colleagues traveling to the areas as well.

Room Tip: I prefer the upper level rooms just due to noise made by guests in floors above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
16
6
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The candlewood Hotel is a great place to stay. Friendly people greet you at the front desk,with very clean rooms and free dvd rentals.

Room Tip: stay on the very top floor its quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff is grate and friendly. We stay there for months at a time and we will not stay at any other hotels

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauls Valley, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Candlewood suites is like home away from home. Great service and nice people.

Room Tip: I always prefer bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was on an impromptu photography road trip to Robbers Cave State Park. After a day of very hot excursions, I ended my day at the Candlewood Suites in McAlester, OK. I was hot and tired. I had just made the reservation about 5 minutes before arriving using my phone and hotel.com.

When I arrived, they had my reservation already in their system. For once the computer system worked as designed. I was given a fourth floor suite with a king sized bed.

What I liked:

- The lobby was large and they have a small convenience store there as well with usual sweet and salty snacks. In addition, they had ice-cream, microwave dinners, cold drinks and sandwiches. They also had things like Tylenol and other more common over-the-counter medications. All in all, a nice assortment of items if you don’t feel like going out.
- The hotel is set back from Hwy 69 behind some restaurants. My room looked onto an empty hill out back. It was very quiet and I heard no road noise.
- Besides the usual fast food places like Carl’s Jr and Pizza Hut, there was a place called the Rib Crib. It’s kind of like an Applebee’s for ribs. The ribs were outstanding. We don’t have them in Dallas yet. They’re a chain and the people were great.
- Across the street is a Blockbuster, WalMart and Staples. All within walking distance. There’s a DVD player in the room, so if you’re so inclined, you have a place to get DVD’s.
- The room was quite large and felt “roomy”.
- They actually had a lazy-boy recliner. It wasn’t the best in the world, but it sure beat having to sit on the bed or a side chair. I don’t know why more places don’t provide a decent chair to sit in.
- They had a movable desk/table with a regular swivel and tilt office chair in addition to a side chair. There were six outlets by the desk which will let you charge all your different devices and batteries. There were also outlets on each side of the bed, with additional free receptacles in the kitchen. I’ve been in hotel rooms where I was lucky I could find one outlet in the bathroom to charge all my devices.
- The kitchen appliances were full sized including a refrigerator, stove top and microwave. There were glasses, pots, pans and other cooking/dining items. There was also a courtesy package of microwave popcorn in the microwave oven.
- There were plenty of towels and pillows.
- The bed was very comfortable, but that’s something according to taste. It wasn’t super firm, but it was a sway back wreck either.
- Finally, the shower head was great with plenty of hot water. It was one of those spray/massage type units. After the day I had hiking, I found it most welcome.

What I didn’t like:

- There are no ice machines in the building. You need to turn on the ice maker in the freezer in your room to get ice. That could take 30 to 45 minutes before the first tray comes out. I found that a bit frustrating.
- All the power outlets were out except the grounded outlets in the kitchen. The good news is that the circuit breaker panel is easily accessible and I was able to reset the breaker once I figured out what the issue was. I found it interesting that the bedside clock radio was still working. It must have a battery backup because unplugging it to test the socket didn’t seem to bother it.
- The entrance to the parking lot is very hard to spot. There’s a ground level sign, but it’s very easy to miss. The best thing to do is pull into the Rib Crib or Carl Jr’s parking lot and go around the back to reach the Candlewood lot.

Conclusion:

This hotel struck me as rather new. It was clean and well maintained. I didn’t go over all the amenities because the hotel description does that. I also had very little interaction with the staff, although what interaction I had was fine. I paid a base rate of $86 which was about $20 a night cheaper than the Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express.

I really enjoyed my stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on April 28, 2012, We were so impressed with the cleanliness and nice room and facility. We want to especially give recognition to the sweet and very helpful young women that checked us in. Her name was Brenda. We will stay at Candlewood Suites again.
Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The staff was extremely welcoming, room was big and very clean. Loved the popcorn package in the microwave....a definite welcome to the end of a long trip! Planning on staying there again on our way back home in a few days.

Room Tip: Very clean, comfortable and affordable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Mcalester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Mcalester

Address: 425 S. George Nigh Expressway, McAlester, OK 74501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Mcalester 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Candlewood Suites McAlester is the only extended stay, all suites hotel in McAlester, Oklahoma. The 89 suite, 4 story hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 69. If McAlester is your destination, the Candlewood Suites is the place to stay. The hotel is conveniently located near restaurants, shopping and attractions. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with microwave, stove top, dishwasher and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access or relax in the comfortable living room area while you enjoy premium Direct TV or DVD player on a 32 inch flat screen television. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit the Cupboard where you can pick a variety of foods, beverages and even toiletry items 24-hours a day. McAlester, OK has many attractions just minutes away. Whether your trip is business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the McAlester area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Mcalester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Mcalester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.