We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stinks like smoke” 2 of 5 stars
Review of CandleLight Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added CandleLight Inn to your Saves list
CandleLight Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   Hwy 69, McAlester, OK   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
1 review
“Stinks like smoke”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

It could have been a nice place, But the smoking area at the front desk is so thick with smoke that it permeates every room on the hall. These NON smoking rooms STINK! And you will have to hold your breath going in and out the front door. The bed is uncomfortable and the sheets do not stay on, of course. Cheap... But skip this one!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay here. Located about 5 miles from the major hotels and traffic, but definitely worth the drive. The rooms were clean and we had a wonderful view of a pond with ducks on it, and fields with cows and horses. Reminded me of growing up on the farm. Very quiet, spacious rooms. I loved having ceiling fans in the rooms for air movement. Breakfast came with stay which included cereals, fruits, toast, oatmeal, or make your own waffles. Vick at the front desk was very friendly and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. Less than half the cost of the hotels we found in the big group on 69. There is no pool, but would still recommend this even for families with children (Maybe not for teens because they would rather have a pool that look at the horsies and cows)..

Room Tip: Wonderful view from back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We used to stay there and went in On a Sunday at 1 PM to reserve a room. I had tried on the Internet and it wouldn't work. I ran bell and an older Guy came from somewhere and hollered at kid behind desk he had a customer. Young man came out looking like he just crawled out of bed. Definitely not the previous owner who kept a professional establishment. We went down the street to Hampton.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Family and I had to stop for the night. I looked up on TripAdvisor and decided that this would be the perfect stop. The front desk was very friendly, the room was extremely clean and although not the most comfortable bed ever, it was comfy enough and the pillows were good. There was a microwave, fridge, hairdryer and iron in the room. Oh, there is breakfast too, we missed it, but looked pretty good. Cereal, waffle bar, fruit and coffee. For less than $60, including taxes, we will stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Kansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The mattress was hard with a mattress pad that was very stiff and rough. To get to sleep, I put one of my pillows under me. I had what some chains would call a studio suite with king size bed for less than half the price you would pay at one of the chains. The other differences besides the quality of the bed between this and one of the higher priced chains are that it doesn't have a curved shower rod and it has an older tube type tv. Breakfast was cheerios, froot loops or another sugary cereal, instant oatmeal, waffles, bananas and apples. If you don't mind a hard, rough bed, it is really a bargain. The lobby and exterior are very nice and the young man at the front desk was very friendly and nice. Internet worked well until it went out about 2:00 AM when I was almost done working. The restaurant used to be a higher priced steak and seafood restaurant. It is closed now and will reopen as Tex-Mex.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It was great stay with excellent value of money, nice clean, quite room, well decorated lobby, free Internet wi-fi , I like the location it's really beautiful, they serve morning breakfast with hot waffles , it's highly recommended ! I will be defiantly stay again , thank you for your great hospitality !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a very nice motel located on hwy 69, they have big back yard with BBQ grill beautiful natural view with lake , room was update look fresh, it’s come with microwave, refrigerator, TV, iron, coffee maker and all other basic amenities, they also offer morning breakfast which is complimentary, if you looking clean, quiet and great value this is the best place, also manger is and staff is very polite and helpful. I will defiantly stay again when I am in McAlester , recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CandleLight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CandleLight Inn

Address: Hwy 69, McAlester, OK
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CandleLight Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your CandleLight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CandleLight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.