We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CandleLight Inn

Save Saved
You added CandleLight Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CandleLight Inn
Hwy 69, McAlester, OK   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a cute little inn . The rooms are clean, the front desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful on check in and check out. Price was very good also. Didn't have continential breakfast. Rooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My husband and I drive to Eastern Oklahoma several times per year, and we've stayed at every chain in McAlester, and were unhappy with them all. We decided after reading Tripadvisor reviews to try the CandleLight Inn.

The CandleLight Inn is not actually in McAlester but south of McAlester in Savannah. It stands by itself on the east side of Highway 69.

The lobby is large and spacious. I called in advance to confirm our reservation and told the front desk we would be checking in between 6 and 7PM. At 6:15, I walked through the door, and the desk clerk addressed me by name. I was impressed. I was about to get more impressed. The lobby is a large room with fire place and well appointed. We were given our key and directions to our room. The hallway is large enough to drive a golf cart through. We opened the door and got quite a surprise. The room was almost as large as my apartment on the East Coast.

There was a sleeper sofa and coffee table, several recent magazines were available on the coffee table along with a few mints and hard candies and a floor lamp. There was a dorm size refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Small table with two chairs, floor lamp and computer ports, and a few mints and hard candies on the table. There were two night stands, lamps on each night stand, with mints and hard candies on each night stand. An old fashioned luggage bench, geez I had forgotten how handy these were, since hotels rarely provide these any more. TV is the old style TV with limited channels. More than adequate ceiling lights and lamps available provide as much brightness as needed and are conveniently located throughout the room. Very comfortable bed with ample pillows and blankets. The room was more than spacious. The bathroom is small and dated but absolutely spotless. Although the furniture and carpeting are not new, they have been excellently maintained.

More impressive, is the quietness of these rooms. We went to dinner next door at The Overlook, that's another review. Food is fabulous, its pricy for McAlester, but for me, compared to Dallas prices, it was a bargain. See their facebook page.

The price of this hotel was about half of those in McAlester. There is no reason to stay in McAlester and every reason to drive the few more miles to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
152 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Offers a small town atmosphere, EXCELLENT service and well worth the stop. Located just a few miles south of McAlester's hotel row and the turnpike on US 69 (actually in Savannah), They made us feel like we were staying at grammas house. Live plants everywhere, a nice lobby with fireplace and the staff make everyone feel like a regular (which they have plenty of!)

Not at all industrial feeling like the brand name locations in town, our room was spacious, CLEAN and offered a frig and micro as well as the soaps & shampoos. And did I mention REASONABLE ?

American owned and operated, our non-smoking room provided us a convenient comfortable place while working in the area. We will definitely return next time we are traveling or working near McAlester.

Be sure to have a meal at the Fireside Grille, attached to the hotel next door. And tell Beverly & Tammy that Terry & Candace say Hi!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have a view of the soaring birds out back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I did call in advance & schedule a reservation with some special requirements. I cannot tell you how they went overboard, not just for us but all hotel guests. Unique art, Clean, almost pristine, rooms. Not only did they provide a great breakfast selection, they provided a simple wholesome dinner to boot. They are building a restaurant next to the hotel. Even though it is not in the heart of McAlester, its close enough. You can tell the people that own it, know their business. Keep up the good work it shows! I wouldf recommend this gem to anyone for a great stay. Laura & Jessie-Missouri

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TXBELLS
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

We ran across this out-of-the-way hotel after having difficulty finding a hotel with a vacancy in McAlester. Evidently oil field workers keep the hotels booked during weekdays. We were so glad the others were full. This was one of the most pleasant experiences we have had at a hotel. The room was very spacious and clean and the price was extremely reasonable. The night manager made us a pot of fresh coffee when we came in. The lobby is lovely with a fireplace and comfortable sofas. There is a large glass patio door going to the outside with a small patio with a gorgeous view. We appreciated the small touches like candy on the tables in your room, peanuts to snack on in the lobby, and a continental breakfast -- all free perks. The hospitality at this hotel makes you feel like you are visiting family. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CandleLight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CandleLight Inn

Address: Hwy 69, McAlester, OK
Location: United States > Oklahoma > McAlester
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in McAlester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your CandleLight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CandleLight Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.