We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded and serene” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center to your Saves list
Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center
22469 Lodge Rd, Lone Wolf, OK 73655   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lone Wolf
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Secluded and serene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent for weddings, retreats, secret get aways. My sisters wedding took place at the lodge in amphitheater . It was lovely. The banquet halls, however, needed a great deal of decor to make them reception worthy. The rooms were very sufficient and clean --- perfect for an anniversary surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    52
    27
    18
    11
See reviews for
45
52
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryneal,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just wanted a quiet get-away for a couple of days and this place was great. Not too many people there in the fall. Little touristy places were closed for the season. Room was very nice, resturant was very good and people were courteous. Small towns nearby where we found some great bargains at their little antique stores. Scenery was unusual and beautiful. Our only complaint was the distance from the parking area to our room. Whew--we decided we're really out of shape. (They offer to drive you in one of the golf carts ---good idea when you are taking in luggage or leaving with luggage.) We had a great time and hope to go back someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay and explore the quartz mountains... Only thing is their wifi is horrible... So it is like being in the wilderness... Food was better than in the past and the staff and park rangers are very nice and educational about the area...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights - was looking for an out-of-the-way outdoorsy place with great hiking. I just can't recommend here.

The lodge - I had booked ahead of time and decided to pay more for a lake-view room. They gave me a room with no view of the lake. If the prices were the same and it was a first-come-first-serve thing then I would understand. But to pay more and then be downgraded bothered me. I went back to reception and they did change my room. I should not have had to ask for what I paid for. The room was decent enough - comfortable and roomy. It did have some cleanliness issues - mainly lots of mold on shower curtain. But the price was low, so one gets what one pays for.

The lodge did not do a good job providing hiking information - so do your own research beforehand. They gave me two handouts - one was so low quality and fuzzy I could not make out symbols and locations. The other was copied in a way that the left side of text was cut off so you had to guess what they were telling you about each trail. I stopped by the park station to pick up better maps (the same ones, but better quality). The maps overall (prepared by the park) need some help in terms of better specifying locations, whether they loop or require a back track, etc. I think they could hire a good intern to create more user-friendly maps.

The restaurant was just ok. I laughed that on day 2 at lunch, a dried up lime from the floor the night before was still sitting on there and the bar had not been wiped down. It's not gourmet - it's just meant to provide food.

I would not stay there again - however if I were in this part of the state again and wanted an lodge-type setting, I'm not sure there are choices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Even though it rained most of the time we were there we enjoyed our stay. TV is limited, the pool had gnats in it , however, my granddaughter (5 yrs old) and I avoided the bugs and had a great time swimming in the am. The food was ok - we ate breakfast and 1 dinner meal at the resort. We were able to hike a little bit and saw deer on the paths. Unfortunately all the activities were closed - mini golf, water slide, etc. I guess we were lucky as the Navy was having a family get together and they let my granddaughter play in the bounce house and get her face painted which added to our stay. Would be better for little kids if they had an indoor playground or activities (outdoor playground was wet) but over all a good place for two nights with family. Fortunately temperature was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Even though the nearby waterside, mini golf and amusement park were all shut down for the season, we had a great time hiking all the trails nearby. The room was great. Very firm beds (our preteen has never slept so soundly), plush towels, iron/board, hair dryer, hi speed Internet, tv and one cup coffee maker. Meals were delicious! The only areas for improvement would be larger, lit signs on the route, and doors that closed more quietly. We didn't hear anyone else once we were in our room, but we felt like we heard everyone's doors. Otherwise, we sure are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Title says it all. This is no resort per se, just a hotel. Nothing to do around, at least in summer when the lake is dry (25ft below normal level!), heat unbearable and only the occasional rattlesnake can spice up your day.
The hotel is OK, it has seen better days, but it is still in good shape. Restaurant is decent, breakfast buffet quite good, dinner not so much - can be ranked even higher considering it is the only one in 15 miles radius :). Pool is really tiny and crowded; becomes really popular since it was one of the few attraction points.
Good for a (really) quiet escape in fall and spring when (probably) it's more green all around, fishing must be pretty good. Good for a cycling vacation as well with miles and miles of uncrowded backroads and some hills as well. (BTW, the "Mountain" in the hotel name refers to couple of shinny -hence the quartz - mounds, maybe 300 ft high)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center

Address: 22469 Lodge Rd, Lone Wolf, OK 73655
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Lone Wolf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lone Wolf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quartz Mountain Resort, Arts and Conference Center is located on Lake Altus in the Wichita Mountains of Southwestern Oklahoma. The beauty of the Resort and landscape that surrounds it needs to be seen to be believed. Quartz Mountain Resort was re-built in 2001 and and its decor has a distinct "lodge" feeling. The property features 118 beautifully appointed guestrooms with lake or mountain views and 12 cabins. The Resort is ideal for meetings, retreats and conferences. Choose from the 5,000 square foot Grand Ballroom, one of five 2,000 square foot pavillions with lake views or the 697 seat, acoustically perfect Twin Peaks Performance Hall. Quartz Mountain Resort is home to one of the most famed dining experiences in Southwest Oklahoma, The Sundance Cafe. With breathtaking mountain and lake views, the Sundance Cafe features a menu that is distinctly Southwestern with a Continental flair. For recreation, the property has an 18-hole golf cource, in-door pool and hot tub and an on-site activities director. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Groupon and Odigeo so you can book your Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quartz Mountain Resort Arts And Conference Center
Quartz Mountain Resort Arts Hotel Lone Wolf
Quartz Mountain Lodge
Quartz Mountain Hotel Arts
Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center Oklahoma/Lone Wolf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quartz Mountain Resort Arts & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.