We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was horrible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stables Cafe

Stables Cafe
223 North Division, Guthrie, OK 73044
(405)282-0893
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Guthrie
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The food was horrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I ordered the Chicken fried steak and it was inedible. The salad bar was good, however there was several flies around/in it. I told the waitress about my food and she charged me for a salad which came with my meal in means to "make it right". The gravy was not homemade and very watered down. We will never go back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    8
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“BbQ like it should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I am a Texan, born and raised. Love good Texas BBQ. But watch out Texas, because Stables Cafe shows that them Oklahoma folk can do it up rught! Ribs quute good, sausage really good, sauce and brisket great!

Had to rein in the feed bag, driving and food comas don't pair well. If there can be a revisit on our home stretch, I would love to show up to this place. It's a win. But enough horsin' around...sides were very good anf salad bar was exceptiinal for a meat rich environment. Down home folksy atmosphere more from staff and clientele than the Nehi and license plate redux decor. Our waitress was great, and the lady at the register was a real darlin'.

Just remember that BBQ isn't cheap, but I have also paid more for it, too. Not usually anywhere near this good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We like to go to Guthrie about once year and always go to Stables. This past Saturday we had a great lunch. I had the hickory hamburger and my wife had a cheeseburger. Both were excellent and the fries were outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great lunch I Guthrie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Got of I-35 in Guthrie and drove past all the fast food joints to Stables for a late lunch. Ordered the pulled pork sandwich and salad bar. The pulled pork was amoung the best I've had and the salad bar was cool and fresh. The iced tea seemed a little pricey at $2.50. I'll certainly go back if the oppertunity presents itself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, quick meal on a bad day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat in Guthrie on our way south on I35. We stopped there when the May 20 tornado was devastating Moore, OK. We felt so fortunate to have avoided the storm and so terribly sad for the people who were there. We are all affected when disaster strikes and we all feel some sense of responsibility to help. Thanks to Stables for giving us nourishment and refuge during the storm.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stables Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stables Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stables Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.