We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Sid's! Food, Marty, experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sid's Diner

Sid's Diner
300 S Choctaw Ave, El Reno, OK 73036-3632
405-262-7757
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in El Reno
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved Sid's! Food, Marty, experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My two kids and I stopped here near the end of a two-month road trip from FL to CA and back. We did a bit of Route 66, Sid's was mentioned in our guide book on road trips. We drove an extra hour or so to eat a late lunch just to come here, well worth it. Between us we had one regular deluxe onion burger, one coney dog, one chili frito pie and a side of tater tots, topped off with a banana split and a chocolate shake. Marty was at the stovetop slinging burgers but made a point to talk to his guests at the bar, was super friendly, shook hands and introduced himself to the kids and I, learned about our trip, etc. what a great experience all around and the food was perfect diner Americana! Just a note: they only except cash or checks so come prepared, but all the food above was just over $20, a steal!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    20
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Onion Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We changed our motorcycle route on the way to Colorado Springs just to visit Sid's. The weather was burning hot on the outside, but Sid's was certainly worth the route change. It has that old time 50's look and feel, and if you're claustrophobic, you might have problems, but if you can get past that, you're in for a treat! Our starving group of four squeezed into one of the tables and the smell of the onion burgers was almost more than we could stand. Then we saw the milkshakes and floats being prepared by the super busy staff. Needless to say, we knew what we had to have; onion burgers, colossal fries, strawberry shakes and rootbeer floats. Marty is a great cook and how he ever keeps up with all the orders, I'll never know. We've had lots of burgers all over the US and Canada, but this was the best! You can't beat the meal for the money!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best milkshake I've ever had....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Made the hour drive from Norman to check out Sid's. I love onion burgers and they are very hard to find done right. Sid's does them right. Lots and lots of onions and they are cooked properly. The burger overall was a bit bland, but all-in-all no big complaints. The surprising highlight was the milkshake though. WOW. I got the chocolate-peanut butter shake and it was ridiculously good. The staff is great and the prices are more than reasonable. We'll be back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best onion burger EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Well worth the drive from anywhere! Best burgers and fries ever.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giddings, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't Beat It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Onion Burger is worth a try! Great portions of food with decent prices!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sid's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Sid's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sid's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.