We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient alternative to the Casino Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Markita Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Markita Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Markita Inn
2401 West Main, Durant, OK 74701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Durant
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient alternative to the Casino Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Price was good. Staff was very helpful. Free breakfast in the restaurant was great (given a paper voucher by the hotel). Only 8 minutes from the Choctaw Casino and concert venue. Room rate quite a bit cheaper than the Casino hotel. The wireless Internet is free with a high data rate. Wired Internet also available at no cost. There is an outdoor pool but we did not use it. A lot of fast food and major brand restaurants within 2 or 3 blocks. The traffic was not bad at all even during the business rush hour. Overall the stay was pleasant and stress free. Of course, it helps if you win at the Casino slot machines!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at BEST WESTERN Markita Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Winning at the slot machines can certainly help in making a trip enjoyable!! It sounds like you really had a nice weekend and hope you enjoyed the concert as well. The casino has quite a few big name entertainers for an area as small as ours. If you stay with us again, remember that they also offer a free shuttle to and from our hotel. Thank you for posting your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
19
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The staff was absolutely the best. Very accommodating. The motel was very convenient and close to anything we needed. The free breakfast was at a restaurant sharing the same parking lot as the motel. Wonderful food and service. I accidentally left my iPad in the room. When I returned to the hotel the clerk met me at the door with it with a smile on her face.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at BEST WESTERN Markita Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am glad to hear you received such good service. We receive the most compliments about our staff. We appreciate guests like you that take the time to report a positive experience. It's terrific that you were reunited with your iPad with a smile :)
Thank you for sharing that story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Older motel, two story, no elevators. Service is warm and inviting. Breakfast is plentiful and filling. The room was clean, but the red light in the bathroom made you feel like you were in the twilight zone. The beds were soft to me, but my wife was not comfortable. We might have been misled by the hotel in Denison, Texas that was updated, clean and included a more modern design.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at BEST WESTERN Markita Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are constantly doing updates to our property and hope that you will try us again in the future. We have recently replaced carpet, furniture, and done several renovations on the outside of our property. The beautiful Best Western you mentioned that is located in Denison is a Plus property. With Best Westerns three tier set up you have a choice of standard Best Westerns, which we are, Plus properties, that offer more amenities, and the top of the line Premier properties, which are full service. You will pay a little more with each tier you move up, but will receive more amenities by doing so. Again, we appreciate your nice comments and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We chose this hotel for a weekend getaway. It was very conveniently located to things we wanted to do. The hotel was nice though we sleep in both days so we did not take advantage of the hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at BEST WESTERN Markita Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We are so glad that you were able to get away for a terrific weekend and are glad that we were able to be a small part of that experience for you. We hope you will stay again in the summer and take advantage of the lake activities available then. Thank you for sharing such a good survey on Trip Advisor. We appreciate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

When checking in i was grossed out by how dirty the keys were. Went on to the room and it was DISGUSTING! Rating it a 3 because of the staff not hesitating to give us a refund....i just was not impressed at all. For an additional 10 dollars I went down the road to a much nicer hotel. Again though the staff was extremely accommodating on giving us a refund. No complaints there.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at BEST WESTERN Markita Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am truly surprised that you had such a bad experience. We have a double check routine with our housekeeping that has not just one, but two people in every room to ensure that things are not missed. We normally receive compliments on our cleanliness. I'm sorry you felt you could not stay with us but am glad to see the staff handled the situation well. Thank you for that compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartshorne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Everyone was very professional and helpful! Room was great! The breakfast space was small, but they kept it clean and everything filled. There was a lady there to help with any requests and to make the waffles if you wanted one! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at BEST WESTERN Markita Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you! That was such a kind review. We have an excellent breakfast attendant. She loves her job and loves interacting with people. It is a blessing to have staff that view their positions not only as jobs but as something they enjoy doing. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Super comfortable bed. Hotel conveniently located to highway.

Hotel room walls were paper thin and front door was drafty. Room smelled like moth balls. Room was decently renovated but itty bitty bathroom was forgotten in remodel. Wi-Fi did not work and front desk was apathetic and did nothing to help resolve Wi-Fi access issue.

Hotel room price was pricey for our 3 night stay but the good night's sleep on the comfy bed is what keeps this hotel in the running for a repeat stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim T, Owner at BEST WESTERN Markita Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We are sorry to hear everything was not perfect for your stay. Please report anything like a musty smell to the front desk. All Best Westerns have a deep cleaning regiment that should prevent this type of issue. If there is something, like possibly an A/C unit issue, that is the cause we would immediately have our housekeeping and maintenance staff take care of it. I assure you we take cleanliness very seriously and want our guests to be as comfortable as if they were in their own home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Markita Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Markita Inn

Address: 2401 West Main, Durant, OK 74701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Markita Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durant
Durant Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Markita Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.