We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choctaw Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel
4617 South 9th Street, Durant, OK 74701 (Formerly Choctaw Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Durant
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Choctaw Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I've stayed in this motel under 3 different owners in the past 4 years. It was ok under the first two. Since it has become the Choctaw Lodge it has undergone a pleasant upgrade. I like the new remodel much better than the old chain style. Feels more homey. They do what they say they will as far as being there to help out if you need anything. Amanda, the lady that takes care of my room, is always there when I need anything. Couple extra towels, help me carry up a few groceries from the store. I am staying 10 days and have some diet requirements so do bring food in to zap in the micro and keep veggies and fruit in the fridge. Kyle is always around to lend a hand as well. I plan to stay here whenever I am up this way and definitely recommend it to anyone. The motel is also pet friendly which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Call ahead to reserve a room and if you have any difficulty with climbing stairs be sure to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you, this is a great review and makes the whole team feel proud of the service they give. Amanda was very excited to receive this review and I know Kyle works very hard not only to manage the Lodge but provide personal service to all of our guests. See you next year for the WSOP if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
22
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lonnie and Melinda were awesome!! So nice to be welcomed and appreciated!! What a staff!!Great value! Every Hotel needs a Melinda and Lonnie!! Congrat's! Very clean great Breakfast! What a gReat Hotel!! Very underated!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your outstanding review of the Lodge and team. They were very excited to see themselves receiving a name shout out and even happier to see that their hard work is noticed. We also think every hotel should have associates like them! I and the whole team all look forward to seeing you return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This motel was a good value if you plan to spend most of your time at the casino. It has clean, necly appointed rooms and a friendly staff. My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin. I could hear conversations from rooms as I was walking down the hall. When the people in the room next to us got back at 1:00 a.m. I was awakened as they were putting things away. It sounded like doors and drawers slamming and I could hear them talking almost as if they were in the room with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the friendly team and the clean, well appointed rooms. We have worked hard during the refurbishment of the Lodge to make the whole experience the best that we can. We do look forward to welcoming you come back to the Lodge again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Big shout out to James Hoag, manager of Choctaw Lodge, and James Dry, who I think is the head of guest services, at the Choctaw Casino south of Durant Oklahoma. We stayed at the Lodge New Years Eve and the facility and hospitality were excellent. I think the Lodge used to be an old Microtel but the Choctaw Tribe bought it and completely remodeled and refurbished it. Staff bent over backwards to help with any of your needs. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms with two queens were very spacious. If you wanted to visit the casino front desk called a shuttle and you were there in no more than 5 to 10 minutes. Everything about the stay was excellent. We were disappointed that we waited too late to make reservations to stay at the Casino Hotel but the stay at the Lodge erased the disappointment. Going back to see Reba and stay there again in the near future!

Room Tip: Choose a double. They have Queen beds. The old Microtel floorplans had very small single rooms. Did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the review and big shout out, we love to read reviews like this as the whole team work really hard to make every ones stay special. It looks like we succeeded in your case. I am also see that we have made you a Lodge convert, we love it too, see you soon for Reba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean. Newly remodeled and comfortable beds with great pillows! Staff very accommodating when encountered issues. Great breakfast! Shuttle to casino, but within walking distance if nice weather.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you liked the refurbishment and the new bedding. The whole team thinks it makes a big difference to our guests stay as does a good hot breakfast. On behalf of the team I look forward to welcoming you back to the Choctaw Lodge very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place has been newly re modeled (earlier brand was Microtel) and everything looks brand new. Very descent price compared to main casino tower hotel. It has all needed ammenities, new beds , flat screen tv, and walking distance from casino. They have a very good breakfast.
I highly recommend this hotel , and if I go again to Durant casino, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are very happy to see that you like the refurbished Lodge, every likes the new beds and bedding as do we. We are happy to tell you all of the rooms are now finished as well as all of the public areas. I hope that you do come back to us soon and I wish you an excellent and lucky 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I arrived way to early and the renovated rooms were not yet available so I gladly accepted the room available. The beds, pillows, bed and bath linens were very nice. Housekeeping helped us switch rooms upon entering and noticing the tv didn't have the ports needed for xbox 360. Cappucino, coffee, orange and apple juice were available all day. The breakfast was excellent!! I was aware of a shuttle service to Casino but I preferred the walk, it was very near and very safe. I had no second thoughts to 1 am and 4 am alone walks to and from Casino. Very nice and even at that the renovation is going to improve. Choctaw standard of excellence, once again. We were there for the Pow Wow, and highly recommend next years if you missed the 8th annual. Very cool. It was at the Choctaw Event Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad that you had a good stay and that the team looked after you so well, we are all looking forward to getting the new rooms back and providing an even higher level of comfort. Thank you for commenting on the short walk to the casino, I love to walk and that short walk is great to stretch your legs. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you come back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel

Address: 4617 South 9th Street, Durant, OK 74701 (Formerly Choctaw Lodge)
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choctaw Lodge is located less than 400 feet from the Choctaw Casino, Durant. Near Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Lake Texoma, Eisenhower State Park, Red River Railroad Museum and the Johnson Creek Recreation Area. The Choctaw Lodge offers guests free buffet breakfast served from 6:30 am to 10 am, free shuttle to Choctaw Casino, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, free parking with room for large vehicles and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board, sofa bed and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Durant
Durant Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.