We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnuson Hotel
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4617 South 9th Street, Durant, OK 74701 (Formerly Choctaw Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Roanoke, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This motel was a good value if you plan to spend most of your time at the casino. It has clean, necly appointed rooms and a friendly staff. My only complaint is that the walls are paper thin. I could hear conversations from rooms as I was walking down the hall. When the people in the room next to us got back at 1:00 a.m. I was awakened as they were putting things away. It sounded like doors and drawers slamming and I could hear them talking almost as if they were in the room with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed the friendly team and the clean, well appointed rooms. We have worked hard during the refurbishment of the Lodge to make the whole experience the best that we can. We do look forward to welcoming you come back to the Lodge again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
22
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindale, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Big shout out to James Hoag, manager of Choctaw Lodge, and James Dry, who I think is the head of guest services, at the Choctaw Casino south of Durant Oklahoma. We stayed at the Lodge New Years Eve and the facility and hospitality were excellent. I think the Lodge used to be an old Microtel but the Choctaw Tribe bought it and completely remodeled and refurbished it. Staff bent over backwards to help with any of your needs. Beds were very comfortable and the rooms with two queens were very spacious. If you wanted to visit the casino front desk called a shuttle and you were there in no more than 5 to 10 minutes. Everything about the stay was excellent. We were disappointed that we waited too late to make reservations to stay at the Casino Hotel but the stay at the Lodge erased the disappointment. Going back to see Reba and stay there again in the near future!

Room Tip: Choose a double. They have Queen beds. The old Microtel floorplans had very small single rooms. Did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for the review and big shout out, we love to read reviews like this as the whole team work really hard to make every ones stay special. It looks like we succeeded in your case. I am also see that we have made you a Lodge convert, we love it too, see you soon for Reba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel is nice and clean. Newly remodeled and comfortable beds with great pillows! Staff very accommodating when encountered issues. Great breakfast! Shuttle to casino, but within walking distance if nice weather.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you liked the refurbishment and the new bedding. The whole team thinks it makes a big difference to our guests stay as does a good hot breakfast. On behalf of the team I look forward to welcoming you back to the Choctaw Lodge very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place has been newly re modeled (earlier brand was Microtel) and everything looks brand new. Very descent price compared to main casino tower hotel. It has all needed ammenities, new beds , flat screen tv, and walking distance from casino. They have a very good breakfast.
I highly recommend this hotel , and if I go again to Durant casino, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are very happy to see that you like the refurbished Lodge, every likes the new beds and bedding as do we. We are happy to tell you all of the rooms are now finished as well as all of the public areas. I hope that you do come back to us soon and I wish you an excellent and lucky 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I arrived way to early and the renovated rooms were not yet available so I gladly accepted the room available. The beds, pillows, bed and bath linens were very nice. Housekeeping helped us switch rooms upon entering and noticing the tv didn't have the ports needed for xbox 360. Cappucino, coffee, orange and apple juice were available all day. The breakfast was excellent!! I was aware of a shuttle service to Casino but I preferred the walk, it was very near and very safe. I had no second thoughts to 1 am and 4 am alone walks to and from Casino. Very nice and even at that the renovation is going to improve. Choctaw standard of excellence, once again. We were there for the Pow Wow, and highly recommend next years if you missed the 8th annual. Very cool. It was at the Choctaw Event Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad that you had a good stay and that the team looked after you so well, we are all looking forward to getting the new rooms back and providing an even higher level of comfort. Thank you for commenting on the short walk to the casino, I love to walk and that short walk is great to stretch your legs. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you come back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadarko, Oklahoma, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We came to Durant for the Choctaw Casino Powwow. We are always on a budget and usually stay somewhere cheap. We don't expect much. Hope for a clean room with no bed bugs. A double bed room at this hotel for 4 people for 2 nights was around $150. A bargain! According to the note in our room the lodge has been newly remodeled. The room was absolutely beautiful. It reminded me of a Holiday Inn I stayed at in Tulsa. The beds are so comfortable. My dad said he wished he could find a way to put it in the car! Loved all the pillows on the beds. And the window seat is so comfortable. The breakfast is pretty dang good with scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, muffins, bagels, oatmeal, cold cereal, fruit and pastries.. We were in and out of the room all day and the hot coffee and hot chocolate available all day was a definite plus. At the powwow, we tried to tell everyone that we could what a great place this is to stay and what a wonderful value. Unfortunately for most of our friends, they had already booked and paid for their rooms at other establishments. Too bad! We don't gamble, so the Choctaw Casino Resort didn't hold any appeal. This place is great and we look forward to staying here again next year when we come to the powwow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, yes we have remodeled the rooms and I am glad that you like them. The team and I are very excited about the improvements and now we are working on making the Lobby look great for Christmas. We are proud of our breakfast and we are glad you enjoyed it and the coffee is excellent (we are coffee drinkers too) Thank you and see you soon, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at Choctaw Lodge and was pleasantly surprised at the new look. The lobby area is inviting and very comfortable. The hotel overall is kept clean and tidy. The breakfast was a hot with multiple choices. The hotel is just across the parking lot from the casino and they offer a shuttle ride free 24/7. The best part was the comfortable pillow top mattress and the "Down" feel of all of the pillows. After a long night of playing the slots, I went back to the hotel and within minutes was fast asleep. The price was very reasonable.....Great Experience!!! Another amazing Choctaw facility!!

Room Tip: Rooms very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad we surprised you in a good way. We are working very hard to make this a great hotel and the team are very focused on making it the cleanest hotel they can. I am glad to see you enjoyed the new “Down” pillows and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge very soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel

Address: 4617 South 9th Street, Durant, OK 74701 (Formerly Choctaw Lodge)
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choctaw Lodge is located less than 400 feet from the Choctaw Casino, Durant. Near Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Lake Texoma, Eisenhower State Park, Red River Railroad Museum and the Johnson Creek Recreation Area. The Choctaw Lodge offers guests free buffet breakfast served from 6:30 am to 10 am, free shuttle to Choctaw Casino, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, free parking with room for large vehicles and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board, sofa bed and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Microtel Durant
Durant Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.