We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...but overbooking almost cost us our room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   613 University Place, Durant, OK 74701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice...but overbooking almost cost us our room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel rooms were nice, cleane and very comfortable. The staff was courteous and responsive as well. However, due to overbooking, if we had not checked in earlier than we originally planned our room would not have been available and we would have been relocated to Denison, TX. We stayed here due to a very ill family member in the hospital in Durant. If we had been relocated, well...things would not have been pretty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
17
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The front desk folks were very pleasant and welcoming. Some of the housekeeping staff appeared to resent being there. We had to request towels and shampoo as the room has been shorted and the drawers were not working properly. The breakfast was not well stocked and there were no cinnamon rolls for the entire three days of our stay. (Cinnamon rolls are the reason that I choose HIE over Hampton. We'll probably stay elsewhere if we are once again in Durant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed one night as a stopover. The outside was nice, the front desk was courteous. The room was clean but my huge disappointment was the linens, the towels were gray and anything but soft and fluffy. The were rough and not folded neatly in the shelves. I almost wondered if they had been used. The bed linens were no better. They were dingy and worn . My experience with other HIE was to find big fluffy towels and soft white sheets. We were exhausted so we just went to bed. My husband went down for breakfast the next morning but due to several bus loads of students they kept running out of food. They should have planned ahead for such a large crowd. Finally he gave up and went looking for a luggage cart so we could leave. After 30 minutes a cart was never returned so we hauled our bags down ourselves. Which wouldn't normally be a problrm but my husband just had surgery and we really needed a cart. No, we will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear sandcastles08,

Thank you for leaving us such a detailed review of your stay. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what feel below your expectations. We deeply apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the room amenities, hotel service and breakfast situation during your stay. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, Please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ofallon, MO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel was very nice and clean. They also give discount to government. We only spent a night, but had no problems. Hotel also has shuttle to local casino. Only problem is that the breakfast buffet was not kept stocked with food.

Room Tip: Discount for government and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

First of all, those of you who stay at Holiday Inn express pretty much know what to expect. That's why I like to stay at HIEs on the road when we travel. What makes this hotel unique is their level of service and professionalism. My wife and I, as well as the whole extended family, have stayed there on a regular basis through 2 major funerals in 3 years. I was pleasantly surprise this last time, in October, they remembered both my wife and myself. And we stayed there for free using our IHG points!!! We truly felt like part of the family. But from the first time we stayed here through this last time the customer service, friendliness, and professionalism ALL the staff displayed was exemplary. Keep it up gang, you've sold me for sure!

Room Tip: If you're a traveling family check out the 2 room suite. Nice and roomy, king bed and 2 queens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I travel to Durant with my girlfriend several times a year, and out of the three hotels that we have been to (Days Inn and Comfort Inn being the others), Holiday Inn Express is the best in town. We can always rely on clean rooms and excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We always stay in this hotel during our frequent trips to Texas. We stayed Aug 11&12 of this year. We experienced the worst HIE stay ever.
1. Pool not operational, trash and other debris in pool.
2. Sauna was smelly, outside drinking fountain broken and leaking.
3. Common capet areas dirty.
4. Housekeeping staff smoking right outside the door going to the pool area, rude and unporfessional.
5. Breakfast area...flies all around, pancake machine broken, and NO signature rolls out.
6. No towels in fitness area or at pool.
7. No front desk attendant at the counter for 10 minutes when checking in, other patrons waiting as well.
8. Bathroom dirty.

We I sent a note to HIE, it was a very disappointing customer sevice response, basically thanks, but no remedy or corrective actions noted and it took 3 weeks for them to respond.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear runer4,

Thank you for taking the time to write our hotel a review. I am glad that you liked our location. I am very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept my sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations on this day.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant

Address: 613 University Place, Durant, OK 74701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open, the new Holiday Inn Express in Durant, OK conveniently located near Lake Texoma, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Choctaw Casino and the award winning Medical Center of Southeastern Oklahoma. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you can enjoy staying at our all suite hotel in Durant, OK. Our Durant accommodations are located near many area attractions, including the Catfish Bay Marina and Lake Texoma, which is perfect for a family day trip. There are also many shopping spots nearby, where you'll find antique shops and boutiques. From golfing at the Silverado Golf Course to hiking near Fort Washita (a historical landmark), there are plenty of entertaining activities for the whole family to enjoy while lodging in Durant, OK.Business travelers can enjoy the convenience of staying at our Durant, OK hotel near local businesses such as Earth Biofuels, Gen Star, Crain Manufacturing, Cardinal Glass and Tetrachem, all situated less than 20 miles from our accommodations. You can also enjoy premium business services, including flexible meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center.During your stay at our 100% non smoking hotel in Durant, Oklahoma, enjoy the heated, outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center and the delicious, complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great hotel room deals and rates, and start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Durant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.